Exploring the Bay of Plenty


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Plenty » Te Kaha
August 27th 2012
Published: September 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today the weather was absolutely disgusting!! Torrential rain welcomed me as I woke up early so me and Terry could gte on with the day! It was really annoying as the day before had been soo lovely and would have been perfect for Terry to take me out on his boat, but he had to work at the farm. Terry made us a great breakfast of bacon and eggs and I put some of my clothese into wash whilst we would be out.

Then something happened.....the dog Oz decided to go for a walk by himself and we couldnt find him. Terry drive around in his truck and caught sight of him but he ran into a neighbours yard then disappeared again. After about an hour we gave up and decided to go on a road trip down the coast.

The weather was still awful but the rain had slowed to a drizzly. Terry took me down the coast past Ohope beach, where we had gone on our trip in 2005, and then to Opotiki. This town used to be a massive port in the early years of New Zealand but now is a quiet, mainly maori, community like most of the townships along this area of the coast. We drove down through the forests along very sketchy roads and eventually arrived at Te Kaha. We wanted to get some lunch but everything was closed apart from a small shop where I got myself some snacks to keep me going, it had been 4 hours since breakfast so very dangerous for me!!

We headed back up the coast and stopped for some more food in a small cafe in Opotiki, which was really nice, before going home. Oz hadnt turned up but Terry had a message from the council saying that he had been at a local address. So he headed off to check it out but by now he was no where to be seen!

When Kathy got home we went out for dinner at an indian restaurant, which was awesome seeing as I hadnt had a proper curry in ages! After dinner we chilled out and I attempted to get mum and dad to talk to me via FaceTime, but failed...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0993s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb