My Travelblog Debut


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Plenty » Tauranga
November 26th 2010
Published: November 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Just returned to NZ after living in FNQ (Australia) for 6 months. Did heaps while there - hot air ballooning, parasailing, ATV'ing and horse riding through the mountains, snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef (had previously dived it). Visited Green Island and Low Isles and also the Tablelands. Cuddled baby kangaroos and survived a heathen of a boss. I've sold up everything/moved overseas/returned and set up home again twice now and it hurts a bit, yet I would do it all again if I could! But now back in greener pastures and must be settled for my daughter who embarks on the high school journey next year. Will the itchy feet ever go away? I suspect not, though it's hard to live with. However I'm concentrating on a new career direction now, that offers me frequent travel within NZ, which will help, and will teach me great skills that could lead me to overseas roles also. So I must try and be content with that for now. Planning to take my daughter Indiah to Fiji for her 13th birthday in June next year. Taking her overseas for her special day is becoming a bit of a tradition, next year will be her 4th birthday spent outside of NZ. She's thinking of becoming a pilot, obviously the travel bug runneth through her veins also... Don't have many friends interested in travel so v.pleased to have found this site. Now to scope it out...

Advertisement



28th November 2010

I can relate
I just got finished with 10 years working for the phone company. Started at 38 and now I am 48. The last 4 years I did well and did all kinds of amazing travel. Last year I decided Wisconsin was to cold so I quit packed up and moved back to Las Vegas; they thought I was nuts - probably was. Got back to Las Vegas got a job to pay the bills it don't pay a lot but it will do. I rescued a female cat living around the pool; she broke my heart. Two months later she has 4 kittens lol. I am committed to her and to take care of her and as fate would have it the kittens to so the next 10 years I will probably only be able to take one trip a year. But hey I am back in Las Vegas and the weather is great. I do know one thing; I will make that one trip a year count and like you I have the bug and it is going to kill me to not be able to traveel more.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb