Driving on the Wrong Side of the Road Continued!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Plenty » Tauranga
September 2nd 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

My 1988 Toyota CaronaMy 1988 Toyota CaronaMy 1988 Toyota Carona

My Flash (NZ term) new car!
Hey everyone. Big news of the week is that I bought a car yesterday. It’s a 1989 Toyota Carona, previously owned by a German traveler who will be leaving New Zealand soon. I brought it to a mechanic to have it checked before buying it, and even though it’s not in the best condition, but the price was right enven if I did have to get $550 (all cash amounts are in NZ dollars) worth of work done to it. I paid $850 for the car, he originally wanted $1000 for it but after I explained the amount of money the mechanic said needed to be sunk into, he did agree to the lower price. It’s not the prettiest thing on the road, but it will get me from point A to B whenever I want and more importantly at the moment will get me to work.

Work is pretty slow at the moment, we’re doing repack which consists of the packers taking previously packed fruit that has sat in cold storage for a length of time and has been found to have too many soft fruit or too much mold. My job is to place the boxes from the whole pallets on the conveyors for the repackers to pack and stack the boxes that are finished on another pallet. When all the bad fruit is thrown into the collection bin (to be sold to farmers as cheap cow feed) and the good fruit has been used to fill in the gaps, there are empty boxes left. These leftover boxes have to be scanned by a hand held device (much like the one Coca Cola uses to inventory machines) to be taken out of the system.

It’s slow paced compared to regular packing, and as a result the days seem to drag on. I count myself as lucky though because only about a quarter of the regular workers were asked to come in for the 2 weeks of repacking.

PS: The earthquake that hit the south island did not effect me in the least, I'm OK!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

AntennaAntenna
Antenna

Where my antenna should be, I have a tape that I can play my I pod on so the lack of radio isn't bad.
Picture EggsPicture Eggs
Picture Eggs

Here they are!


2nd September 2010

Toyotas are reliable! Ilyes's Camry is doing fine at 350,000 + km. cheers, Leslie
4th September 2010

Hello from Courtenay
Hey Eric, Just got caught up on your blogging. Glad you didn't get too far south yet so you didn't have to go through the earthquake. Did it make it up to where you were at all? Glad to hear you're getting some work and some time off. We do enjoy your blogging, so keep it up. Stay safe.

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb