Day Nine


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Plenty » Tauranga
May 28th 2008
Published: May 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I can’t believe the tornado hit so close! And Mom, of course you stayed outside to watch it. I can just picture you all on the deck talking about how beautiful it is while most people were hiding in their bathtubs. Remember the time in Ft. Myers when you made me sit out on the lanai with you during that lightning storm? I was hyperventilating because not only were we right by two bodies of water, but we were surrounded by metal beams on every side. It was beautiful, though. I think your consolation for my fear was, “Oh just watch, you’ll live.” I did. Thank you, Mom!

Tiff, thank you for the birthday story! I know exactly how you were feeling… alone, at night, trying not to be scared but freaking yourself out even more. How is Belly doing? Does she look any older? Have her lungs kicked in yet, or is she still quiet? I had the weirdest dream. Jack and I had just gotten back into town and I ran up to you saying, “How is my little Isabella!” Everyone just looked around, a little uncomfortable, until you finally said, “Well, you see…while you were gone we found out that she is a boy. So we renamed him Stephan. Say hi.” Crazy dream. Then I woke up and randomly yelled at Jack, “Where’s your pillow?!” He said I sounded angry, but I think I was just worried… not sure.

Yesterday was relaxing. We biked into town, climbed the Mount, biked back, played some tennis, watched a strange black & white film, made dinner, etc. I think we spent more time inside on the couch than any other day.

Today we did the usual bike and climb, but went over the bay to a city called Tauranga afterward. It’s a little less tourist-driven; there are more restaurants and cafes and less gift shops. I think we are going to stay there Friday night when we check out of the resort.

So, cool story for John and Nat. We went to a restaurant along the coast in Tauranga called the Naked Grape and the bartender was from Laurence, Kansas of all places! He has been living in NZ for almost 20 years, works as a musician and a bartender, and has played at Alvamar (excuse my spelling if it’s wrong). Everyone working there was from a different country. Good food, too!

Bobbi, Jack cleaned the whole condo! It’s been an amazing birthday!

Deborah, and all my other contributors to the honeymoon: the black bag has been useful  Some one needs to tell Maw Maw that the chocolates were the best!

I’m already 20 years old in NZ, which means Mike’s birthday is tomorrow for us!

Jack says I’m 140 years old in dog years.

It’s just after 1:00 in the morning for you all, so sweet dreams!

Advertisement



28th May 2008

Hello from Bogota
Linds...your mother was so careful of you!! I see that you know how to wash dishes............did Deborah teach you (I know Connie didn't!)????? I am so glad the time share what y'all needed. Take care..........and one day you can explain to me what happened in the wide open!
28th May 2008

linds: you got the golf course right but the town is lawrence. if you see him again ask him how many times he's parred #6. if he says "lots" watch your money! didn't know i missed your birthday. dinner on me when you get back. talk to you all later. love ya, john
28th May 2008

Belly
Stephen is doing great!
29th May 2008

The black bag
A funny black bag story of our own...we got a similar gift at our wedding, however, when we were moving lets just say that someone who was helping us moved that bag before I could get to it...I think for that person who accidentally opened it felt a LITTLE akward (as did we!)...so, always be careful about WHO you let move that bag! And that's all I will say:) Hope you are having fun, wow, I am tired just reading your emails! Is the food really good? It looked like you had toast and spaghetti one night-it got me wondering about what type of stuff they serve in NZ....the closest reference I have would be Outback:) ALSO, we have some amazing friends living in Auckland out there, they are traveling the world and doing missions stuff with the program YWAM...two are from Duluth you'd really like them! So, if you are ever looking for a place to stay in the Auckland area I may be able to connect you with them-it could be nice to meet a bunch of people your age from all over the world that are using a world travel pass (where you can go like 14 places or something). The place they are it is BEAUTIFUL!
29th May 2008

Happy Birthday Lindsay! Now you're just an old married woman.
29th May 2008

happy birthday in new zealand to you, happy birthday in new zealand to youuuuu....happy birthday in new zealand.....happy birthday to Linds. in hamster years you are only 13.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0518s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb