Last evening in Paihia, Bay of Islands


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands
November 2nd 2006
Published: November 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Can't believe I've been on vacation for 3 weeks already! This is my last evening here in this lovely town in the Bay of Islands in New Zealand's North Island called Paihia. It's a town made famous by the Waitangi Treaty House just down the road, where the Waitangi Treaty (the piece of paper that created the nation of New Zealand) was actually signed. As with almost everyone who comes to NZ, however, it's the scenery and activities the Kiwis are famous for which have made my stay most memorable.

Apart from the cuisines, which I try to have a go everywhere I go (God, I'll have to go down the gym as soons as I get back to the UK!!!), done dolphin-watching (didn't swim with them as I'm not a confident enough swimmer), speed-boating, sea-kayaking, dinner cruising..........

Going back to Auckland tomorrow, before flying down to Christchurch the next day. Hopefully, the whalewatching tour I've booked up comes up trumps. Also, apparently, Christchurch is the most British place (mostly Scottish and Dutch ancestry, apparently) in all of NZ. Just like Melbourne is the most British of all of Australia.

Well, got only 2 minutes on internet time at the hotel, it's 9:40 in the evening, and I have to go and get my washings from the laundryroom - too much details!!!!!!!

Ciao. ;o)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb