The Rain Fallows to Bay of Islands


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands
April 16th 2006
Published: April 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well the first day we didn’t quite make it all the way up to Bay of Islands, we stopped in Auckland for a night; Kate had never seen the city and Jo really enjoyed it so we decided to stay a night. It was a quite night, went to an Irish pub and listened to some live music and people watched - there are really funny people in Auckland. The next day was Easter Sunday so Kate and Jo went to church in the morning and I enjoyed a very peaceful morning eating yogurt and muesli and sitting in a coffee shop reading magazines and my book. From Auckland we headed up to the Bay of Islands…kinda a mistake in my opinion. It was pouring! Bay of Islands is a really nice area, kind of preppy sailor type but a nice area. It would have been absolutely georgus if it wasn’t under clouds, grey, and wet. We did find a really nice place to eat - I had the most amazing sandwich with everything you could ever imagine on it. But then night fell, and we were with out housing, without a campsite, without anything thing! So guess where we spent
The RoadThe RoadThe Road

we drove on more dirt roads with no gaurd rails...so scary
Easter Sunday…in the car! Probably one of the most terrible nights of my life, things went numb that I never knew could. The morning was even more rough when we woke up to torrential downpour. You can imagine the mood I was in. but we found a café, got some coffee and just watched the water…for like 4 hours. The rain did start to tapper off so we headed to the other bay called Russel. I liked that town a whole lot better - not so many preppy sailor attitudes, more sailors. We found a DOC information center found a campsite for us to stay at and an amazing walk to do. So for the rest of the day we went hiking. It was so nice - kind of an intense hike but well worth it. When we got to top of the hill you got a view of the entire bay. We then walked down into it and there where these crazy trees that Jo and I climbed and watched the ocean. On the walk back there where these wild horses, well not really wild they let us get up all close and pet them, oh man! I can not wait to have land so I can own one, I really want a brown and white paint (sorry side note).
The camp site we stayed at was amazing! There was this crazy old man who worked for DOC running it, he lived in a giant camper that said ‘old man river’ on it. Oh man he was amazing. I must have talked to him for 2 hours. He had been working for DOC for over 50 years and probably knew every plant, animal, bug, sea creature, and rock formation in New Zealand. And now him and his wife just live in this camper by the water looking after the campsite. Old men crack me up! but this site was nice, there was a swing and it was right on the water. I got to use my new backpacking stove to make us soup and grilled cheese sandwiches…worked like a dream.
We packed up camp and headed north…
Till next time



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Being sillyBeing silly
Being silly

I found a silver fern and decided to put it in my hair..kate was jelous...it was day 5


30th April 2006

Old Men
I'm sure glad that old men crack you up because nothing makes me happier than to see you smiling and happy. I now feel that this is my new advocation in life. Enjoy yourself........it all sounds wonderful.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb