First Week in New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands
February 2nd 2009
Published: February 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

All is great in New Zealand. The weather has been perfect and the county amazing. I bought a small van and have been travelling around the Northland. Tons of beaches, harbors and rolling hills. It is quite tropical and most of the water is very clear, but a bit chilly. There are hostels and campsites everywhere. My van has a bed and everything I need in it. All of the sites have kitchens, showers, etc. The last site I was at even had a wood fired hot tube that we relaxed in after a day of hiking and snorkeling. Next is the Southland, where The Lord of the Rings was filmed. It is even more incredible from what I have heard. I am currently in Raglan. It is a laid back surf town that I have been surfing and will do some kiteboarding today.

I also did some diving at Poor Knights Island. It is supposedly one of the top ten places in the world to dive. We dove in caves and swam with tons of fish, eels and sting rays.

I have met people from all over the world and this has been a highlight of my trip so far. Especially since I will soon be travelling to many of their countries.

I still do not have my blog online since I cannot sit still long enough to make it. It may just turn into a photo blog. Check it out.here.

http://picasaweb.google.com/csdyer2020/MyFirstWeekInNewZealand?authkey=G_j_pnbjpx8&feat=email#

Just cut and paste into your browers if the link does not work.



My phone still works (972-467-8879) and any messages are forwarded to my Skype account. "csdyer2020" is my Skype name.

Below is my itinerary and it is a work in progress. I would love any of your comments and visitors along the way. If you have friends in these areas, please forward me their email address.

I lost a bunch of addresses when I converted my contacts, so please forward this email on. If this email was forwarded to you, please shoot me an email so I will have your address.

Cheers!

Chris


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb