Bay of Islands


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Paihia
March 2nd 2011
Published: March 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

If I thought I was drinking too much in Auckland it was nothing compared to the Bay of Islands. This was the place I met Andreas and Charlie (the Swedes). Travelling on the bus, I look to my right and see Andreas taking a few swigs from his Whiskey bottle. I knew these two days were going to be tough. On the trip we stopped off at Goat Island and took a see through floor boat around to take a look at the local sealife which was fun, but lasted 45 minutes which was too long. It was free as it was part of the bus pass.

I must admit I didn’t do much at all in the Bay of Islands. First night I got drunk and the following day I just sat on the beach recovering and then suddenly it was night time and again we stayed up late drinking. After speaking to Andreas and Charlie I realised that they would be on the same Stray on the beginning of my trip. It's going to be a rough ride.

The Bay of Islands was a beautiful place and I would still recommend anyone to go there. There was a group from our Stray bus that went to the very top and they really enjoyed it, but I was happy with just visiting Paihia. You can swim with dolphins and take a look at some of the Islands, but I felt it was a little over priced.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1010.1kb