gently visiting Northlands


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Paihia
March 23rd 2008
Published: March 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

VN treeVN treeVN tree

Botanical gdn pic
Halllo again.
I've really enjoyed moving at my own pace for the past few days; visiting friends: one highlight was seeing 2 old flatmates from Oxford, maybe 35 yrs since we last met!!!

And now back to staying in hostels, I have moved up to Paihia in the Northlands, warm sun, lovely beaches. another fab dolphin cruise, this time to watch them play in the bay, along with a baby one! they came really close, and played around our boat for ages. (I put this down to me whistling, apparently they relate to that best, so I did lots). We were on a catamaran with sails, not too many punters, a very gentle ride, visit to a bay, snorkelling around the rocks there, watching fishes. That was when I managed to send my latest memory card into the Bay - hmm, not too clever. However, I felt sort of relieved, I don't have to take pics this day. And fortunately I'd backed up most of the pics already.
This entry is really so I can make another attempt at a few photos - you'll know by now if this has worked.

I'm taking this holiday time to practise my
5Ws in NZ5Ws in NZ5Ws in NZ

after a swim nr Mt Maunganui
swimming, at last safe sea swimming, so am doing a pre-breakie yoga and swim routine, and can now swim and open my eyes under water for a little bit - great improvement.
I'm heading west on the Magic bus tomorrow to Hokiangi, finding buses and tourist info people very helpful here. More chilling plus a visit to the ancient Kauri forest. hopefully will manage pics of that.
love to you all, M xxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

after Kayakingafter Kayaking
after Kayaking

Able Tasman park


24th March 2008

Photos
You did it Margot! The photos uploaded and you look fab :) NZ looks fab :) keep blogging its great to hear your news Love Lx
25th March 2008

You seem to have got around half the world so fast! Can't keep up with you! Heard from Sarah that you had met up with her and Judi. Patrick leaves for Dehli tomorrow, via Heathrow. Can't fly straight from Munich. I wonder if he will do this 'blogger' thing. It's great! Have fun, and take care of yourself. Continue to enjoy your trip. Maggie
27th March 2008

gently visiting northlands
Following your wonderful trip with very great interest. Makes the 'Wanderlust' come out in me! Heard from Sarah that you had met up with her and Judi. Patrick left for Delhi yesterday. The house is so empty today!! Hoping he will do this 'blog' thing too. Carry on having a great time. My love. Maggie xxx

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb