And then there are those other things, which for several reasons we won't mention...


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Paihia
May 15th 2007
Published: May 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm still in Paihia, but told Jim, the owner of the hostel I'm staying at, that I plan on leaving Saturday. It's been great to spend so much time here in the Bay of Islands, but I'm afraid if I don't leave soon, I may never. I'm about ready to move on and continue my trip with Kiwi Experience before it gets too much later. In the eternal words of Steve Miller and his band, time keeps on slipping into the future.

I decided to go parasailing the other day, which was brilliant. I've done so only one other time, and that was in Aruba, and I'm glad I chose to go again. I was not too sure about spending the money, but I got a discount, so I went for it. It was well worth it. Floating 1,200 ft above the Bay of Islands is like nothing else. You can see for miles, taking in all the surroundings with mental snap-shots I hope will last a lifetime. If you ever doubt the existence of God or his love, come to New Zealand. As much as I enjoy the thrill of free fall and the bragging rights of near death experiences, being able to glide like a bird over the ocean was exciting in a quite peaceful way. I did take time to fling myself forward in the harness, hanging by my thighs with arms outstretched in the Superman pose for bit as well as leaning all the way back until I was suspended upside down, the blood rushing to my head as the ocean seemed to float precariously above the mountains, but other than those times it was very relaxing.

Last weekend was also the Bay of Islands country rock festival held right here in Paihia. It was hysterical. Kiwis doing country was something I never thought I'd see! It made me feel like I was back in Nashville... well, Nashville in an unaired episode of the Twilight Zone. The first day featured what might be described as Country Karaoke in the streets. It was all aspiring country artists, most of whom were hawking their CDs to passersby, performing for the public. However, there were no bands to speak of. It was mostly either just singers or singers with cheap guitars, both of whom had tracks playing in the background with synthesized drums and copyright free imitations of the original music. There was one wanna-be Texan ("wait, you mean he wanted to be from Texas?" Yeah, that's right. In all fairness to this poor bloke, though, he's probably never been there and doesn't know any better...) who gave stirring renditions of such classics as "The Thunder Rolls" by Garth Brooks and "Living In Fast Forward" by Tim McGraw's shadow... er, Kenny Chesney. By 'stirring rendition', of course, I mean it made my stomach stir and churn. I know I'm a music snob in general, but this was the first time I realized I am also now a country music snob as well.
Then, on Sunday morning, they closed down the main street to have country line dancing in the middle of the road. Now there's something you don't see everyday, even in the South. But, bless their souls, they loved every second of it. It also made me happy to see cowboy hats, boots, and big belt buckles again. It's been ages and I felt a little closer to home.

Yesterday I took the ferry out to Russell, which used to be the capitol before Wellington. It holds a lot of New Zealand's firsts, such as the first hotel, first pub, first police station (which is still in use today. It is a house where the police office lives. That's right the police officer) and first church. It is a tiny town with not much to do, but still holds a lot of historical value that was fun to see. I also hiked up to Flagstaff Hill which offered a fantastic view of the bay in the opposite direction that I usually get from Paihia. I then downed a liter and a half of Lift while watching ducks fight over bread near the wharf.

Before I go any further, I feel I would be remiss to not extend a sincere and hearty congratulations to the graduating class of 2007! I wish I could have been there to cheer for you as you crossed the stage and shake your hand in that ridiculous cap and gown. The real world waits, but keep in mind it'll still be there later if you decide to avoid it for a while. Might I suggest New Zealand? Whatever you do, I'm sure you will do it well. Remember to seek God out there in the thick of things where it is easiest to get lost in the shadows of work and play. Albert Einstein once said "I like to think that the moon is there, even if I am not looking at it." (thanks, Trish!) so keep your eyes open and your hearts listening.

I realized (after spending ages in here uploading pictures) that I made a mistake and half the pictures in the last album are duplicates from the first album. Don't that figure? I have too many memory cards and just grabbed the wrong one. Well, I was more careful this time and have uploaded a few more for you guys to check out at your leisure. They encompass my time in Kaikura, Wellington, Taupo, Rotorua, and maybe a few other random places that got stuck on that card. So, check 'em out if you want!

Also, I have put all my old emails that I've sent to y'all online at a travel blog site. Right now it is nothing more than the redundancy of what you've already read, but I'm hoping to snazz it up a bit with some videos and whatnot. This way, however, people not on my email list can re-cap on all that I've done without me having to forward all the old emails to them. Feel free to dispense the URL to people who might be interested in catching up on me. Also, 15 bonus points if you can figure out why I chose the nickname Belteshazzar and where it comes from. (Yes, Sarah, I know I only offered you 10, but you can have the full 25 if you get it!)

Well, I'm not sure I have much else to report. As always, I love and miss you all and hope that you are well physically, emotionally, and spiritually. Keep me in your prayers and keep in touch with me as your life ticks on.

Enjoy the summer.

All my lovin' I will send to you,
Daniel

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb