OOPS - mucked up


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Paihia
January 16th 2007
Published: January 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

OK, so what I suggest now is that you take the rest of the day off, get a cuppa, put the fires on and sit comfy cos you're in for one heck of a read.
The thing is, I wrote this one Dec 16th and must have pressed save instead of publish (bloomin computers), so now I have come to continue, I just came accross this one saved.
Dec 13th:
Sorry its been a while. Just that I've taken the kiwi laidback attitude a litle too far too quickly I fear. Life has been ex tre m el y slow of late, but hey ho the weathers good, the people are good, and I'm sorry to say I'm being good. (chance of otherwise would be a fine thing).
So...yeh...
Arrival:happened.
I have to say its the first time I've arrived to cloud, rather than blazing hot clear blue skies; not even a simpson cloud today, all just grey, but, and I can not stress my but enough (!) straight away, as in immediately, the moment the plane doors opened that familiar clean air smell hits me, even in the airport. Yes, maybe I'm biased, but the emissions polluting NZ airports really do smell cleaner.
I am met by my sister in laws sister who I have not seen for maybe 20 years or more. How did I recognise her? She was the biggest brightest woman in the place, and at nearly 60, with a fresh flower in her hair, she radiated a warm welcome. I have fond memories of Jackie from my first visit when I spent a couple of months living with her in Auckland when I took a job there. She has an amazing energy; a big loud Moari woman. Full of fun. The meals she cooked were delicious. Kumera (sweet potato) in various guises with everything and so much of it. You'd think she was feeding the 5000 every night. Needless to say I put weight on then - nearly 2 stone, so I was determined this time not to eat so much - WRONG. After driving through various towns I had lived in previously, noticing few changes other than expansion we arrived at her house where her husband Chris, a Samoan guy whom some 28 years earlier had tried to coax me into having a baby with him greeted me with the biggest hug I have ever had. he nearly squeezed me to death. Still childless they are such a warm lovely couple - and what good hosts. i could have had as much beer and wine as I'd wanted! and the BBQ, well, I've never seen as much meat cooked in one meal. There was a pile a foot high! I didn't like to tell them I'd been almost 100% veggi for the previous 6 months. So my stomach must have wondered what had hit it as I tucked into meat after meat after meat. Notice I don't name the meat - that's cos I didn't know what it was - possam maybe, best not to ask. It was delicious whatever.
The folowing day, after a good sleep we went downtown (to Auckland) where we visited the most amazing fish market ever. Fish the size of small children - or even Sue Loose height but fatter. There must have been 100 different types. We bought some Kina to try. These are sea eggs, the spiky ones and we ate them raw. A little bit like mussel meat, but frothier. Not something I would choose again, but hey I tried it. The first time I went to NZ I was offered raw mussels at a party held in my honour I tried to refuse politely, but was advised to eat gratefully if I wanted to be accepted here, so I swallowed hard and heaved soft. No one told me I was supposed to take the green bit out - the poisonous green bit. I may have been poorly for a week - but hey I was accepted.
So after the frothy fish, we watched a Santa Parade. How weird that was seeing Father Christmas arrive on a sleigh pulled by what really looked like reindeer, snow scenes abounding, Xmas lights, Carols the lot - all in gloriuos sunshine and melting heat. Just doesn't seem right.
Auckland, the City of Sails. Every family has a boat - and what beautiful boats. Loads of them all playing about on the sea front. Theres no question of dad going of for the day leaving the wife and kids at home - oh no. Sunday is the family day and so boating is a big family thing. There's kids as young as three togged up and steering the boat. Safety - what safety. Thats the thing about Kiwis, they don't see danger as Brits do. They encourage kids to have a go, not like us saying "be careful, don't do that etc" They encourage independence early on and it works. All the kiwis I've met have that air of confidence in them selves. Low self esteem? Never!
So on from that. Well, I had planned to buy a camper for that independant freedom I enjoy so much, I'd checked some out before I arrived and expected to pay about $3000 forone. However, it trasnspired that I haired a station wagon instead. Why? Well, first: no campers available, 2nd: I can sleep in the station wagon if I want (it's a large estate) and thridly I got a good deal. That's something I don't manage to get easily in UK, but here...
I rang around and found the average price to be about $28 a day to hire as Im here for 72 days at least that works out to be...over $2100 The I spoke with one guy who asked what my buget was. I told him $1500. "yeh we work around that " he said. He siounded a bit suspect,. so I said we'd come and have a look. I had visions of him going and pinching a car then renting it to me for cash. (Just shows what sort of mind I have eh - well I am from near Liverpool!)


Advertisement



18th January 2007

hi
Hi Stevi it all sounds great I am hoping to be in NZ mid to late feb so maybe we can catch up love val

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb