Rangitoto Island


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Rangitoto
October 4th 2007
Published: October 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We had a bit of a lazy morning this morning, so much so that when I finally decided that I was going to walk to the summit of Rangitoto Island, an island just off the coast of Auckland that was a dead volcano, I discovered that I didn't have much time to get sorted before the last bus to get to the ferry terminal in time left!! I did make the bus and to the ferry terminal with time to spare! The trip on the ferry was freezing. It was also quite entertaining as the Captain kept appealing for more and more people from the back of the boat to move to the front as they were slowing us down!!

When we arrived on the island I was worried that there'd be a great stampede to get up, but I was pretty much on my own for the most part. Once I got walking it got really warm, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I got up to the top in 30 mins, although it was an hours walk - check me out!! 😊 When I got up there I had my little picnic and enjoyed the view which was amazing. A 360 degree view of the city, the coast and all the surrounding islands. While I was up there I got chatting to a couple of English guys. The ice was broken when one of them got up to take a photo for a couple and stuck his bum in my face! I stayed with them all the way back down again and on the ferry. The got off at the same ferry terminal and although they promised they weren't stalking me they then turned up in the corner shop where I was buying an ice cream (Cookies and cream cornetto - amazing, I'm a proper convert to the ways of cookies and cream - Thanks Ali!!).

After a quick nosey round Devonport I got on the bus and ended up chatting to a woman who was on holiday in Auckland from her farm outside Rotorua and invited me to stay if I made it down there. She said they don't get much chance to travel so they live see things through the people they invite to stay with them!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb