I have been up a volcano and jumped off a bridge. And Dave's here tonight. I still haven't seen a hobbit.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Rangitoto
February 13th 2007
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

All true.

But to begin where I left off in oz...

Went to see Paul in hospital, then from there to hostel to enjoy noodely supper of two packets of beef noodles and soy sauce, which were rough and made me feel sick. Bed around ten, which was when the nightclub three floors underneath me opened. The nightclub insisted on playing its lively disco music until 2.30am, which didn't please the mattador in any way. On the contrary, with my alarm set from 5.30am to catch my flight, I was rather unhappy about the whole thing. I was also unhappy to notice at around 4am, a Korean gentleman taking a number one in the corner of our dorm room, next to, and in fact a little bit on, my rucksack. He was very apologetic (and so drunk he had no idea where he was really) when I jumped off my bed and asked what he was doing in my special "i've had about an hours sleep and you're weeing on my bag when Ive got to get up in an hours time" voice he ran around trying to clean up, which under other circumstances might've been quite funny.

Anyway, up bright and early, caught train to airport, checked in nice and early, and went through to departures for my shower. I was in quite a good mood by then as had had lovely coffee, and beans and egg on toast, and also had found really good pair of headphones very cheap, as mine were on the blink. This made me happy. Also was really looking forward to NZ at this point, as it wasn't pissing it down there.

The point of all this, is that the showers were in the same place as the toilets, and I had my phone playing some Kooks as loud as it would go, and was maybe singing a little bit. When I went in, there was noone there, but when i came out (in a towel to go and brush my teeth) there were lots of people there. I may've looked a bit odd.

Flight was uneventful, chatted to old person next to me for a while, and even though it was 10am in Brisbane, it was 1pm in Nz, so in order to adjust to my new home I had a little bottle of wine and a few beers. I am on holiday after all. And it was free.

Got to airport, got bus into town and checked into hostel. Went for wander into town to buy some new disco shoes (ie slightly smarter than my Nikes, which after that much rain and dirt in oz are absolutely rank and may need throwing away if multiple washes don't work). Found some which have arrows on and make me look cool. The woman in the shop said so.

Back to hostel, changed, then into town again to go to a house party in Kingsland, I have no idea where that is, got train. Met up with Hannah, who went to uni with andy, and I'd met a few times in London on nights out, who'd very kindly asked me to her flatwarming party. Got there (very tired but red bull fixed me up), and noticed that they'd spit roasted a whole pig, and done loads of nice salads and bread and stuff. Happy. Anyway for some reason was very animated that night, and had a really good time- lots of very friendly kiwis. Photos on fb soon hopefully.

Returned to meet new roomates in hostel around half five in the morning. Good party. Thank you hannah.

Next day (11th) up around midday (was tired) then to Albert park for big free music festival thing which was really good. Met hannah and some of her friends there from the party and had a beer. Went from there into town in the afternoon and ate some nachos, which were fantastic, and had chicken on. Amazing, and really cheap. They had beans on too.

Good day, which involved me being in bed at 7pm, a new tour record. Nearly finished my book now.

12th: Was booked onto free Kiwi experience day tour of Auckland, which started at 10am (early). Got on bus, got taken to the harbour bridge, and walked over it. Some people had booked to do bungy jumps off the bridge, but I was planning to wait till i got to the big on e (this was 40m, Nevis is 143). Watched them jump off, and just couldn;t not. It was absolutely amazing. I asked to go under the water as well, so i got in to just below my waist. Honestly was brilliant fun. And I got a free tshirt. 25 pounds well spent (is cheapest on in nz)

Rest of day was nice, good group on tour so went round with some german bloke and some swedes, saw some stuff (not very interesting, so i pretended that it was hobbiton which amused me more). Got back from trip and went for wander in town, before going to watch Ireland get pounded by France (shame for Farzad really) with Hannah in the pub she works in. Retired gracefully to hostel, where a Japanese Udon noodle soup awaited me in it's plastic house. My god it was rank. Smelt of fish food. Ate it anyway though. Chatted to odd woman called Rowan. Bed at 11, too late in my opinion.

This morning- up early as had to change rooms which was annoying. Anyway, into town, booked all my Kiwi experience things and a flight i needed to, got lots of free stuff and discounts which was nice, then looked in my lonely planet to find nice things to do. Spotted coffee shop that they went on about, so went there. Brilliant. Epic coffee and a huge bacon and egg roll for 3 pounds. Result. Read more of LP, discovered was a voldcano nearby and the ferry left in about an hour. Ideal. Went there, met some french girl called Jade on ferry so walked up with her (about an hour to top, 250m up), amazing views over Auckland and sea and stuff (good photos) but was odd walking on the black volcano rock stuff (last eruption 600 years ago don't worry mother). Came back, had really good ice cream (Wine, spices and honey flavour, won some award apparently), and came to internet place.

Has been really nice getting flood of emails after my brief rant, will try and reply but hard as well as doing this! Has taken an hour to write this and am going home for spaghetti on toast before meeting Dave later (very excited about this). Start Kiwi exp day after tomorrow at 7am and things should get more exciting then, going swimming with dolphins first. Score. Chaaaa, M

Advertisement



13th February 2007

Blimey - that all sounds v. fab
Sounds like you had a fab few days since last blog. No mention of being grumpy and the quality of food seems to be on the up too, although I am glad to see that the beans and beer continue to flow in NZ... C x
13th February 2007

Epic coffee?!?
Matthew, stop referring to yourself in the third person. I'm not sure i'm comfortable with you stealing my friends; you know i have so few. It's unfair to muscle in on them when i'm powerless to resist. But it was wonderful to hear your voice on saturday, though next time please be aware that disco time in NZ is really quite early in Brixton. The lager xx
18th February 2007

up the... na na na
hush now byrne you loved the early morning birdsong. the mattador and myself had chosen one of the finest in our repetoire! matt- was weird reading this blog. oculdn't work out what was wrong with it... until i realised you had learnt my first name. wonderful 10/10 and was a pleasure- good party good times i say :) x

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb