The last days of New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Ponsonby
June 20th 2010
Published: June 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, after much debate in my head and heart I have decided to quit searching for a job here in New Zealand and am now focusing my time on heading to Australia a month early. Jobs are few and far between here and I've gotten plenty of rejection letters lately. I feel like it's time to move on and start something new again. I've let all my Aussie friends know my plans and they all seem just as excited as I am.

I found a cheap flight to Melbourne on June 29th and will leave New Zealand then. My friend Dorothy who worked at OCH with me came up from Christchurch to Auckland on her way to Samoa. I spent a couple of days with her catching up and then she went off to Samoa. Another friend, Louise has also come up to Auckland on her way back home so I've had a few last visitors. I have already got a bank account set up in Australia and have applied for a tax number and now i'm just counting down the days.

Before I left home I got a tattoo done on my leg of 3 stars to represent the 3 continents that I have been on. (North America, Europe and Oceania). Now that I've been to Thailand in Asia I have decided to add on to my current tattoo and get a 4th star done for Asia. I went and talked to a tattoo artist and we came up with a new design. So on Sunday Pete drove me down to the shop and he watched while I got my 4th star done. This one is purple with 2 cherry blossom flowers inside to represent asia. He also added in some details into my north america star to make it more interesting. It turned out really good and now i'm in the process of healing it.

Pete and I have had a talk and we have decided to go our separate ways. We will always remain friends and he is a great guy and was a really good guy to have around in my life while I was here in New Zealand. Seeing as i'm only going as far as Australia at the moment we may see eachother again soon. He has never been to Australia so now is a good time! So, back to being single but i'm happy and ready to move on.

Look out Australia, here comes Laurene!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.325s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 17; qc: 67; dbt: 0.2011s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb