Living in Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Ponsonby
March 13th 2009
Published: March 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

February - March 2009

Still loving it here in Auckland and I am feeling quite at home now. Most of you will know that I got a job with Hawkins Construction Ltd. From Banker to Builder! And some have now taken to calling me Bob!!! Disappointingly hard hat and yellow vest didn't come as part of the contract!

Its taken me a while to get back into working life (what do you mean a 44 hour week is standard!???) BUT I have to admit I must have been missing it because I feel like life has finally become more "normal" again and now I am earning money to plan some trips to see more of this fantasic country!!! And I am seeing alot of it with work - Wellington (twice) and Hamilton in my first two weeks and yesterday Tauranga and Mount Manganui in the Bay of Plenty! If only work travel was always that fun!!!!


I also moved house to a really cool area called Ponsonby which is just great. The lovely townhouse I share with Katy is just a stones throw from many, many , many a bar and restaurant and a few clubs too. Its perfect! Good shopping too............

Last week I had the pleasure of seeing Billy Connolly at the Auckland Vector Arena - I have noticed us Scots seem to be taking over New Zealand!!! Maybe its the rain we are attracted to..................

Last weekend I hired a car and had a great weekend driving over the waitakere ranges in the West over to Piha Beach. I had one of those "WOW" moments driving over the crest of the hill to Piha! Its pretty stunning. Its got some really big surf too and the surfers were amazing - Bondi pales in comparison!! I also made it to Goat Island marine Park off Leigh and did some snorkelling in the cold murky waters with some rather humunguous fish and promptly went out and bought a wetsuit afterwards brrr!

So everything is great here and if I can get my contract extended I might be staying a little longer........I have gotten very used to the kiwi way of life and have to say I love it!! Any of you are welcome to visit any time!!

LMx




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Ahermmm?!Ahermmm?!
Ahermmm?!

Kinda worrying that this was included in the Kids Area at the Titirangi Visitor Centre But teeehhhheee hee - you can see I've not matured too much since my departure!!!


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb