Yes! I am a long way from home


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Parnell
September 12th 2007
Published: September 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After traveling solidly for 34 hours or so I am now in Aukland! Woo! I( touched down about 3 hours ago or so, and have dumped my stuff at the hostel, wandered round for a bit and came here.
Since leaving reading i have discovered these things
-My big moment of fear was after saying goodbye to Alice and i was waiting in the security line. Almost burst into tears.
-You should NEVER EVER JOKE ABOUT HAVING CRACK, GUNS AND BOMBS HIDDEN ON YOUR PERSON. Airport staff have no sense of humour about it and do not react well
-Kiwis do not know how to cross roads. 40 people standing by a roadside where there are no cars looks really wierd. They all wait for the little green man. I have been causing havoc.
-Aukland has many many restaurants and almost as many bookshops. I like it (However whilst eating a particularly good fellafel i did eat part of its tin foil wrapper)
-Spending 24 hours in one seat on a plane is really really really dull
Thats all for now i think. I've got 2 days in aukland before i go to Alex's on friday (a 10 hour train ride) which i will spend pottering around.
My Mp3 player with all the music i have has broken. Even before i got into the country. It just wont play songs. I am not happy about this

Chris

PS All my blog titles are gonna be song titles. Partly because that is my idea of fun and partly because i hate writing them normally. Today's is a Mogwai song.

Advertisement



12th September 2007

my idea of fun...
Hope the hostel isn't too bad - watch out for any ridiculously good-looking Eastern European hookers who try it on with you. It may be that they don't just want you for your body (hard to believe, I know...), but actually want to sell you to a rich murder-tourist instead. Sleep well.

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb