Up North


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Parnell
March 14th 2007
Published: March 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Tongariro CrosssingThe Tongariro CrosssingThe Tongariro Crosssing

recognise the view??
Ok, its nearly over now...

I have to say I'm not enjoying the North as much as the South. It may be that the weather's turned and its rained for 3 days, or maybe just that I'm rushing through.

Anyway, I've still done some cool stuff. Whisked through Wellington (did anymore spot the mistake in my last entry - was a little confused about where I was that day - was Wellington, not Auckland!!), so didn't see a lot there, then up to National Park for a couple of nights. I was very lucky with the weather - I got to do the Tongariro Crossing on Sunday - and could understand what all the hype is about. It was the most dramatic volcanic landscape - really amazing (I feel justified in using the term 'awesome')- and perfect conditions ('sweet' as they would say here). Sadly, as its the most popular day walk in the country, I had to share all this with several hundred other people. Ho hum. I met a nice French girl (a shepherdess) on the bus from Wellington, so we walked it together, and took our time to try and avoid the crowded bits. We met another french girl along the way who was 5 months pregnant. I was very impressed, considering its a tough 17km with several hundred metres climbing.

I feel even more fortunate to have had such great conditions on the track, as for the last two days all the buses to the crossing have been cancelled as the weather's too bad, and no sign of it improving in the next few days. The bad weather also means I've not been able to Sky dive. I'm a bit disappointed, as I'd got as far as booking it, and it was cancelled - I was looking forward to the adrenaline rush. I even contemplated doing a bungy jump instead, despite the fact that I've already said I never would as I think its a ridiculous thing to do. However, once I got to the bungy place, to check it out, I stuck with my original sentiments - there is no way I would be able to jump off the platform suspended 45m above a river. I felt nauseous just looking over the edge. I did watch several fools having a go though, which did nothing to encourage me further...

Despite the rain, and cancelled sky dive, I still a had a nice day in Taupo on Monday. I hired a mountain bike, and spent the day doing some off road tracks - would be really good to get back on my bike back home - (I think its just blocked up the utility room for the last 6 months).

Yesterday I was in Rotorua - a city built on lots on geothermal activity. It smelt of rotten eggs, and was packed with tourists - i wasn't really impressed. I visited a maori village (along with several hundred other tourists), saw some traditional song and dance, and a big geiser (the highest in the southern hemisphere). Kind of interesting.... I watched a great film in the evening - The science of sleep, directed by Michael Goundry, the same guy who did Eternal Sunshine of the spotless mind. I'd really recommend it, very bizarre, but cool, and with the added bonus of Gael Garcia Bernal (I think that's his name). I had to share a dorm with 3 blokes which was a bit crap - needless to say at least one of them snored...

And today (Wednesday) I've had a quick look round Auckland. I like it actually, more than I thought I would. I'm staying in a nice district called Parnell - very leafy, lots of nice shops and cafes (kind of like Harrogate..!), and had a yummy lunch of fresh fish and taboleuh (don't think I've spelt that right). Looked around the museum, and went up the sky tower - 328m - the tallest building in the SOuthern Hemisphere - pretty impressive - and a good spot to watch the torrential rain from.

So thats about it folks. All in all an absolutely brilliant holiday. I've still got my fingers crossed for a quick sky dive tomorrow, before catching the plane for a nice 30 hour journey back to manchester.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb