On the road again........


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Devonport
February 18th 2013
Published: February 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Managed to source a bike at the eleventh hour from Natural High. A well kitted out business with friendly, knowledgable staff. One of the lads there is ex 7Para RHA who came out to NZ 8 years ago with a Kiwi girlfriend and hasn't looked back.

Set of first thing Monday and met Scottie (one of the lads from the curry night) on East Coast Road who was out training as he is yet another Triathelete! He gave me the heads up on the route I'd planned. As the day wore on I was glad to have heeded his advice, as what he doesn't know about cycling here isn't worth knowing.

After a while I left the East Coast Road and found some minor roads to Long Bay Regional Park. I scooted about behind the dunes for a while then found a coastal nature trail that I followed and took in the fantastic views, following this till I reached the mouth of the Weiti River that runs by where I'm based. The beach was fantastic, huge and practically empty. Following the coast south I took Beech Road dropping down into various bays - Torbay, Browns Bay and Murrays Bay. It was twenty six but felt a lot hotter and the hills were taking their toll. Several streets were named after British coastal towns - Bournmouth, Scarboro (spelt like that), Brighton, etc etc.

Skirting around the east side of Lake Pupuke I entered Takapuna which had a miniature city feel about it. A couple of high rises with shops, bars and eateries that gave it a metropolitan feel. But no sooner are you in it then your out of it! Continting out of town on Lake Road I could see Mt Victoria in the distance, the road was straight, long and hilly.

Mt Victoria got the better of me, sweaty and puffed out, admitting defeat I had to push the bike to the summit. All the while telling myself that was the sensible thing to do as I'd cycled 50k and the bike was loaded up with all my gear. I'm no Buffalo Soldier that's for sure. (Google it circa 1896 - and you'll never make excuses about how your old bike is letting you down!)

The climb was well worth it, the vista awesome, from Downtown Auckland across the sea, Rangitoto Island (an adventure for another day) and all the way back to where I started on Whangaparaoa Peninsular. Rewarded with an ice cream and cold beer in Devonport I took the ferry to Auckland and then a short ride to Citiy Travellers hostel where I'd got an apartment. Too old and long in the tooth for a dorm, plus I want a double bed and my own shower thank you very much. I know you've heard this before but it really does exactly what it says on the tin! Cheap and clean, still expect to find a roach somewhere but no surprises yet. Definitley recommend this to anyone travelling on a budget.

Shower and a chill before exploring Downtown in the evening..................hooked up with three locals and had an entertaining night...........tell you when I see you..........thanks Bill. You know who you are!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb