Stop 1


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
June 4th 2011
Published: June 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Left a beautifully sunny (well..looked like it was going to be through the sunrise!) Sydney to arrive in Auckland where it has completely thrown it down with rain since I got here. Was one of those terrifying arrivals where you emerge from the clouds and all you can see is sea...and it looks as though that's where you're going to arrive. Fortunately the land arrived in time for a safe landing. Very nearly didn't get on the right plane though...

In their wisdom, Quantas have two flights going to Santiago via Auckland and they both leave at 9.25 in the morning. So I turn up to check in only to be told that my flight has been cancelled and I will need to wait another few hours before I can get on a flight. Only those going directly through to Santiago can be put onto another flight. I was given a meal voucher and sent on my way. So after sending all sorts of irate text messages I went to the service desk to convince them to put me on flight. When they looked me up on the system, I didn't exist. Cue my sheepish retreat from the desk and going around the corner to the other check-in desk to check in for my still running flight - whoops! Had a very nice breakfast at the airport though...

Not sure that I have much to add about Auckland...is cold...raining...and it appears they only sell Korean/Chinese/Japanese food. Sure there must be something to see...maybe I'll go to the zoo tomorrow afterall!

Advertisement



4th June 2011

Zoo
Zoo is always an excellent option :-)
4th June 2011

Zoo
Zoo is always an excellent option :-)
5th June 2011

Sounds like you have a wonderful trip planned.
We can't wait to read about your adventures. Happy travels.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb