Arrival In New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
February 9th 2011
Published: February 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I Arrived in Auckland on 8th November 2010 and although very tired and disorientated, I was very excited and eager to start how I meant to go on and enjoy every minute of my year in New Zealand. My first views of this magnificent country were from the windows of the plane as we came in to land at Auckland Airport as me, all of my new friends and many of the other people on the plane craned our necks to get a good look. What we saw was beautiful and I couldn't wait to see more. As it turned out I didn't have long to wait as the guy picking us up from the airport and taking us to ACB Base hostel decided to take us on a short tour of the city including the harbour and Sky Tower. We stopped for a few minutes at Mt Eden an extinct volcano where we could see right across the city's skyline and where I got my first photo of New Zealand.

ACB Base Hostel on Queen Street is a large, clean and comfortable hostel centrally located with good facilities and friendly staff. Perfect for backpackers trying to get over their jet lag or spending a few nights sight seeing Auckland. I wouldn't recommend staying there long term though because unfortunately as with many large companies there is a lack of personality and personal touch about the place. With guest numbers in the thousands, the staff although they try hard to provide activities and support for all they will never have the time for everyone. I was very thankful that I came with a group of people because if I hadn't I think I would have found the experience very lonely and overwhelming.

My first week in New Zealand was lots of fun and I enjoyed exploring the city. Seeing as I was planning to stay here for a year and hopefully find work my first week was also spent filling in a lot of forms and opening bank accounts etc. The weird thing was that all of this was still enjoyable! I never thought I would ever say that applying for a tax code was fun!

Memories created during my first week: Seeing my sister Sarah again, Getting to know my new friends, Globe bar - the hostel's bar, Cassette No 9 - a bar where shots are served in Teapots, IEP office - a working holiday company and our orientation tour!

Auckland is a nice, clean and attractive city with plenty to see and do but other than the small population is no different to many other cities around the world and is definitely not the real New Zealand. I think it is time to move on.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb