Christmas antics.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
January 2nd 2011
Published: January 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello people! Hope you all enjoyed the festivities of Christmas and Santa had good taste in presents!, and I wish you all the best for the New Year! Roll on 2011!

So, what have I being doing, well I’ll start off with errrr.… the fun stuff? …. So I thought I had gangrene in my hands (lol) , went to the chemist and everything, it turned out to be ink staining from a green pen!!!! Haha. Fool!
What else, oh yeah, I set the hostel on fire on Wednesday night!!!! Full on fire, flames, evacuation, 4 fire engines, firemen, fire alarms, blood and everything! What a nightmare! Basically, I don’t 100% know how it happened, but I think it had something to do with an in-cent stick. I got back from the shower, the corridor was all Smokey, I thought what the hell, I opened the door to our room, and the bin and carpet was on fire! I screams and a guy came with some water to try and put it out, but it wouldn’t go out, so I smashed the fire alarm and cut all my hand, then ran and got the fire extinguisher, luckily managed to put it out with that, but the room was still really Smokey so the firemen had to use big fans so we could go in and get some stuff for the night, we had to move rooms, but its all good now! No one was hurt, and all our stuff was ok, pheww! My nickname is now the fire starter, haha.

My mum & Mike came over for Christmas; it was amazing to see them. They arrived in Auckland on the 9th and I surprised them at the airport.  I showed them the hostel where id being staying, introduced them to a couple of my mates, haha. Love it! We went up the sky tower, some good views of the city from up there! I took them to mission bay and they treat me to a lamb dinner, best thing I’ve eaten since I’ve been here, 100% better then bloody pasta!!! They’d had a long flight so I was nice, and let them go get some sleep, they went off on their travels round the north island for a couple of weeks while is stayed and worked in Auckland.

So yeah, I was just working, going out the usual life stuff, nothing too exciting, and nothing too boring either! I had a leaving night on the 21st December, as I was leaving Auckland to meet the mother on the south island and didn’t know what my plans where after that (but I ended up coming back to Auckland, that’s where I am now!). I flew to Queenstown on the 22nd, with a stinking hangover and a much heavier than when I started rucksack (for some reason, I seem to acquire so much shit along the way!) I arrived in Queenstown, checked into my hostel and went for a wander. I loved Queenstown, such a nice place, its small, near a big lake, really pretty. Mum and Mike arrived on the 23rd in the sexy campervan, and the camping fun begins! We drove to the campsite and got settled, went for a wander round the town and stuff, had an early night as we were up early to go white water raftingggg! Woop woop!

We had an early start, we got to the rafting sight by helicopter, it was amazing, we all loved it! Rafting was cool but not too crazy because the river we was supposed to
room 1112room 1112room 1112

best room ever.
be going on was closed due to heavy rain, it was too dangerous to raft, so we went on the calmer river, it was still fun, and we all managed to stay in the raft!

On Christmas day we had a hot air balloon ride booked, but it got cancelled due to wind . A bit disappointing but Christmas day was still class. We took a drive out in the campervan, found a good spot and had Christmas dinner (if you can call it that) near the river with a nice backdrop of mountains. Me and mum cooked chicken, steak, sausages and lamb in the campervan, we had sort of a BBQ thing, it was nice. We opened our presents there as well. It was nice and different and great to spend it with mum and Mike. We went for a walk and got back to the campsite about 7ish, we had wine and cheese and crackers, yummy! On Boxing Day we had a long drive to Franz Josef, where we went to climb the Glacier. We arrived and we had booked a Heli-Hike (helicopter ride and hike on the glacier) BUT, the helicopter ride had being cancelled (shitty!!) due to wind!!!! (bloody wind!) Which again, was disappointing but we got over it! We had a half day hike on the glacier, which was ace! Loved it! Got some good pictures, check em’ out! After the hike we checked in to some hot pools, but they were really busy so we didn’t stay long. We stayed the night in Franz Josef, the Campervan Park was nice, trees everywhere and stuff.

We set off to our next destination, Arthurs Pass, but due to torrential rain, we decided to drive straight to Christchurch and check in early to the motel. It was a long journey but quite pleasant, with some good scenery, at some points I felt like I was in Jurassic park! We got to Christchurch quite late, so just went for food and slept. We got up the next day, and guess what, the rain had followed and it was torrential! I didn’t get a good feel for Christchurch. It’s a shame about the earthquake as you could see the effects just walking around the city. Mum and Mike as a surprise for the last night, had booked us onto a Maori experience, It was great fun, we had a nice meal included and got to see a Kiwi bird! The Maoris sang us songs and we had to join in doing stuff, Mike did the hacker, it was amusing and all good fun, a great way to end their trip!

We got back late-ish from the Maori experience and had to pack. My flight back to Auckland was at 5.40am so I had to be up super early. It was sad saying bye to mum and Mike, I’m really missing them now too 

So I got back to Auckland on the Wednesday, and that’s when the fire incident happened, I was really shaken up, I was working on Thursday day, but on Thursday night, I got really drunk to drown my sorrows! So on New Year’s Eve, I was a big wash out with a hangover and hardly drank!! But New Year’s Eve was still good, danced a bit and watched fireworks from the sky tower. It was nice.
Not done much since then really, just hung out with me pals! Going flat hunting next week, so ill let you know how that goes!

Well happy 2011. Love and stuff to you all.
XXXX



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



6th January 2011

Hello
Your Christmas sounds brilliant! @-)

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb