Kia Ora from Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
October 21st 2010
Published: October 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have been on planes, or holed up at airports for almost two days straight. It’s quite stressful actually getting on and off planes, checking your baggage on and off planes, and going through international security a few times.
I’m not really complaining I’m to excited to care about all of those things. Sitting in Sydney all I can think about is how close I am to my final destination, Auckland is less than a three hour flight away and looking out the window it’s hard to believe I’m half way around the world.
The sun, palm trees, and the golf course across the runway make me think of Florida, and until I land in New Zealand and get away from the planes, and the airports, possible climb Sky Tower and take a good look out across Auckland I don’t feel like it will truly sink in that I’ve done it, I’ve made my dreams come true.

Relaxing in seat 12k I gaze out the window and see nothing but darkness, letting my eyes adjust I finally focus on the clouds below. Thinking of nothing in particular I enjoy the thought of being out in the open sky somewhere over the endless ocean.
Continuing to stare down upon the world I finally spy the sea and after staring at it for what seems like a long time I start to realize I’m not thinking about the things my eyes perceive, I realize with disdain that I’ve have become self absorbed and cut off from the natural world like so many who inhabit this planet.
Taking another look I seem to look through all the layers my eyes perceive, I see the plane and the window which I look through to the outside world as man made and confining, caging my mind and spirit
. Just letting my self go I think of all the layers beneath me, the clouds and the prevailing winds, of the vast body of water and the millions of creatures great and small teeming within it’s ocean depths.
My heart and breathing slow way down and I feel myself forget who I am, and that I’m 34,000 feet in the air with hundreds of other passengers on a plane headed to Auckland, I forget and for awhile I share an out of body experience with the sea and the sky and everything in between.
Afterwards as I sat there and tried to puzzle out just how I had felt I came to the conclusion that I had touched upon an emotion rarely felt as I had grown older, and that feeling was wonder. I had looked through all the layers of perception and started to feel wonder and interconnectedness once again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb