Happy Chinese New Year!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
February 9th 2009
Published: February 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Travel tip no. 2 - don't get sunburned on your first day. Honestly you'd think I'd know better at my age!

Sat, 7th Feb
Having some time on my hands in the middle of the night (jetlag) I have read the Auckland Whats's On cover to cover and have discovered that there is a Festival of Lanterns taking place in Albert Park (just up the road from the hotel) to celebrate Chinese New year of the Ox. It was amazing! So many poeple there - food stalls selling Chinese, Thai, Malaysian and Vietnamese traditional food (a taste of things to come!). Also as part of the event there were performances - dance, opera and martial arts demos. I found myself a nice spot under a tree and watched the people and sites unfold around me.

When it got dark the atmosphere changed and the lanterns all lit up were amazing - real buzz about the place. The martial arts demo was replaced by a public karaoke (no I didn't do a turn) and you can see the Sky Tower all lit up red. The night ended with a fireworks display and I headed off for the 5 min walk to my hotel... perfect.

Sun, 8th Feb
Today I jumped on the hop-on-hop-off Auckland Expoler bus tour (proper tourist I am!). Saw the Sky Tower up close... its very tall 1000ft (taller than the Eiffel Tower... for all you tall building enthusiasts). Just as I was passing some nutter was base jumping off the top... he didn't splatter on the pavement in from of me but I still don't fancy a go. After a quick tour of the harbour - this time by road, we headed up to Bastion Point lookout - stunning views of the harbour. Might try and go back there if I have time. Didn't hop-off at any other stops (Kelly Taltons Antarctic Underwater World; Rose Gardens; Holy Trinity Cathedral) until I got the the Auckland Museum - which is a very impessive building (although the gift shop does not sell baterries).

Travel Tip No.3 When you have a digital camera and you put in new rechargable batteries straight from the pack they will only last as long as your arm so charge them first... oh yeah...

Tavel Tip No. 4 When you have a digital camera always carry spare batteries just in case they run out and you want to take a photo with your camera rather than just carrying a useless lump of equipment round with you all day.

Bus went on to Mount Eden, which is the tallest point in Auckland with amazing 360 degree views of Auckland and surrounding areas and islands. (At this point I would have liked to have inserted a photo - see Travel Tip No. 4 for details). Also went past Eden Park (home of the All Blacks!), Auckland Zoo (didn't hop off) and the Museum of Transport (didn't hop off there either). I did hop off at the Domain where they were holding an open air jazz concert - got myself a spot in the dappled shade of a big ole tree and chilled out. Loads of people there - all decked out with fold-up chairs and picnics - I had a hot-dog and bottle of water from the ice-cream van ;-)

Got back to town at about 3.30 and got myself on a ferry to Devonport - where lots of people commute from. By 4.30 I was sitting on the beach I'd seen from the harbour cruise and was finally dipping my feet in the ocean. Its really lovely and cool with the breeze from the ocean. I can honestly say that this is the most relaxed I have felt since I arrived... must be sound of the calming waves. Then I saw some guys eating chips out of paper... I decided that was a fine idea and bought myself snapper and chips. Wow... don;t know of it was the fish, the view, the lack of appetite since I arrived but oh my... it was seriously good.

Headed back to the big island at about 7 and ended the day with a movie at the cinema. Saw Gran Turino with Clint Eastwood (in the film, not my date) - wow it was good. I've been spoiled today with all of the great things I've done. Got to bed at about 11 and slept all night... thats the way girl!

Mon, 9th Feb
Last full day before the cruise - got myself on the ferry to Waikeke Island... its 40mins by fastcat and yup... it went fast! Joined a bus tour of the island which was good but quite long - 3 hours. Still, it was interesting to get an insight into life as an islander - and now its your turn to hear a little of the commentry... there is a permanent population of 7000 which can triple in the summer and a lot of the people who bought land there, because when it was being sold off (50yrs ago) access to the island was a no go so they had to buy their land unseen. This caused issues because when they finally arrived they realised that it was so steep they couldn't build on it... end of commentry. Got off the bus at Oneroa which is the main village and got myself some lunch in a place called Lazy Lounge Cafe - too hot to eat much but it will keep me going till dinner.

Got back to Auckland at about 2 and headed into Westfield (yup the shopping centre) where I got side-tracked again and got my nails done and then allowed myself to get persuaded to have a pedicure.

Ducked in here to update the blog and will head off for some dinner afterwards. Next time I write I'll be all at sea... M x






Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb