Blogging is for lossers


Advertisement
New Caledonia's flag
Oceania » New Caledonia » South Province » Noumea
February 14th 2009
Published: February 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Feb 14 2009

So apparently I’m not very good at blogging, its been about 2 months since I last wrote something so here goes nothing. Well I’m now officially 25, thank you everyone for the birthday wishes. I got really drunk and had a blast, I even got pulled up on stage for a special dance, from the dance team here, there is a video floating around I’m sure at some point I’ll put it up on youtube. So after a night of drink and celebrating I paid for it on Christmas day. I had to get up and video tape kids making cookies at 11am having gone to bed a 5am. And all I wanted to do was eat the cookies the kids were making. Seriously you should have seen how good they were, M&M, whip cream and a ton of other toppingss, mmmmmmmmm.

Christmas was ok, its always a bit weird being away from home on Christmas. There’s no snow, no tree and when you get up in the morning there aren’t any presents and you have to go to work. Shit when I type that up it sounds really bad. Christmas was ok even though it was a busy cruise. There is always lots of extra stuff to video tape during these cruises (such as kids making cookies). We did the secret Santa gifts with our department and I ended up getting film makings for dummies, which everyone got a good laugh out of.

After that we head to New Years which has a more celebratory feel to it. Because getting drunk and listening to house music isn’t something you really do with your family anyway. New Years was a blast even though I had to work for the countdown. We record the balloon drop in the atrium for the video. But after that’s done its straight to the bar.

Currently were switching back and fourth from cruising New Zealand and New Caledonia. I’ll start with New Caledonia, which is pretty interesting. If you love beaches and the ocean then this is for you. We visit some cool places but my favorite are the last two stops which are islands that only 300 people live on. Its pretty amazing to see these places and the only way to get to them is by boat. Although parts of New Caledonia are beautiful the cities are dirty and look like look like run down motel towns.
New Zeland on the other hand just straight up kicks ass. So much so I think I might live here at some point in my life. The place is just clean and beautiful. One of the most amazing things I’ve seen to date is cursing though the Fjorlands. This a part of New Zeland that juts out from the main land. It’s a giant nation park, that just has hills, mountains, and waterfalls it is some of the most beautiful scenery I have ever seen. We spend the whole day sailing in and out of these massive coves and it really is amazing.
Sad to say on this contract I really haven’t taken many photos I’m not sure why but I just can’t be bother to lug around my point and shoot camera along with the DVCpro camera. It sucks not to have many photos but I have tons of videos.

Last week I went whale watching and didn’t see a whale, kind of sad but we did see tons of dolphins including this really rare breed that were huge, I got some great video footage that I’ve saved.
Work has been going good and I’ve been improving a lot of both my shooting and editing skills. I just finished a Final Cut Pro training book and I’m onto an editing book . I’ve even been applying for jobs while one here. On that note if anyone has seen a good broadcasting/videographer resumes I would love some feedback and or ideas on how to write one. Right now I think my resume is kind of crap. But my demo tape is coming along nicely. And were supposed to be getting new HD cameras soon, which I can’t wait for but I hope it won’t make my other footage look like crap.
Oh also I get a new roommate last cruise and he’s a pretty nice guy. We don’t have much in common and he’s actually quite shy but I’m working at becoming better friends with him.
That’s pretty much all the news from now. I’ll try to do a better job with this blogging thing but no promises. If anyone is bored they can always send me an email I love hearing what other people are up too. It gives me some sense of reality.

Later


Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0962s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb