My last day in Auckland and my first night in Papeete, Tahiti


Advertisement
French Polynesia's flag
Oceania » French Polynesia » Tahiti » Papeete
May 13th 2012
Published: May 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My last day in Auckland was pretty darn nice. I woke up after having a nice sleep in and ventured off to the waterfront to have a good ol' breakfast. It was absolutely lovely having a view of the harbour while eating my scrumptious eggs benedict. What more could you ask for? Afterwards, it was time to search for this 'hokey pokey' ice cream flavor that everyone insisted I have to try. I went up and down Queen Street and into the side streets, and found zero ice cream shops. Then...I see it: a chocolate shop with the flavor 'hokey pokey' with amongst six other flavors. I got a scoop of it and it was yummy in my tummy. Basically, vanilla mixed in with hints of caramel and honeycomb.

In the afternoon, Daniel and Hannes (the German guys I met from the airport) picked me up from my hotel in their camper van and we went to find parking in one of the car parks nearby the hotel. It was around 2:30PM when we started our walk towards the harbor to check out the sunset and a view of the Auckland Bridge. They made me get near the edge of the walkway to take pics! EEK! I was scared of falling into the harbor, but luckily, they were holding me to get the pics they wanted. They were hungry and wanted to go to McDonalds! I really wanted to have lamb for my last night in Auckland, but I was still down to have some Mickey D's. Nonetheless, it was good, cheap, and I can't complain. We then walked back to the carpark around 9:00PM and I then saw it their eyes: FEAR! Their camper van was broken into and their big backpacks containing all their clothes, Iphone, and medication was stolen. =( I felt absolutely horrible for them. We called the police and filed a report, but nothing they said would help their situation. Their backpacks were long gone. I let them stay with me in my hotel room cause I had more than enough room for them two. They were quite grateful and that was probably the first time I slept with two German guys in one bed (rest assured...nothing happened)! Anyway, checked out and I'm now in one of the wonderful French Polynesian Islands known as Tahiti! Bonjour Tahiti!

Well...sorta bonjour! Upon arrival, it was craziness at the airport. People were all disorganized but I luckily got to my hotel only to be greeted by early 20 year olds wanting to party. Apparently, the hotel has a nightclub directly in the lobby. So you check in while people are waiting to get into the nightclub. Then, when you get to your room, it makes no difference cause people are rampant. AHH! I just want to sleep but I can't! I have an early flight tomorrow and I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel. It sucks! 😞 No sleep for me yet again....


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Hotel Tahiti NuiHotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui

My bathroom
FoodFood
Food

Food trucks for dinner


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb