The Fiji Experience


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands
May 21st 2006
Published: May 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Was not at all what we expected. But once we got over the fact that we had another 9 days in this version of paradise we made the best of our situation.

We started on the Island of Nacula, right at the top and stayed at a resort called Oarsmans Bay Lodge which was alright, apart for my two bed mates that woke me up in the middle of the night flapping around (cockroaches). This was the best beach of all of the Islands we visited.

We then went to Taweva Island and stayed at Coral View Resort which was lovely, I didn't have any bed guests for the 2 nights whilst we were there, so I was very grateful for that. The atmosphere there was great, and I think this was our favourite place- they made really nice cakes!

We then went to Coconut Bay View on Naviti- I would give this one a miss- the staff there were really miserable and the food was not great. There were two other resorts, White Sandy Beach and Korovou, which were much nicer.

We then went to Kuata Natual Resort and spent 2 nights there, we met up with people we met at Coral View and met some more- it was so fun and the food there was very good too!

We then went to Bounty Island, where they filmed Celebrity Love Island. The beach was georgeous, the food was great, a bit on the expensivie side but all not motorised activites were included so it kinda paid for itself. Though we didn't get the chance to use the facilities as the weather turned to rain and wind the day we were there. We went and had a nosey at the Love Shack, which has been completely gutted. I didn't actually watch CLI but a die hard fan that was there filled me in on the set up. It's a shame that they gutted it, it would have been a lovely honeymoon bungalow or perfect for girly holidays!

We then went to South Sea Island, the one closest to the mainland- again everyone met up there so we had a laugh. The snorkelling was amazing, and I was even tempted to do a dive, but the weather, again was not great so we gave it a miss.

Fiji was great, cos of the people we
Bounty IslandBounty IslandBounty Island

Where celebrity love island was filmed
met, but I don't think that it would be the Honeymoon destination for me. Also I think our expectations were way too high- some things should not be done on a budget!

We managed to move our flight to today so we are at the airport now and are heading off to LA. We leave here at 17.45 and arrive in LA at 10.45Am on the same day- really weird! So we have to go and do some washing-, all of the laundromats were closed today and the one at base was closed for refurbishment so we have bags filled with dirty laundry! We had to throw the majority of our clothes away as they were worse for wear so when we land the first port of call is the shops- then I have to get my hair done as I have a bit of a mop at the moment- when I upload the pictures you will see what I am going on about!

Another Continent over, it is going soo quickly, I will be home in less than 7 weeks!

Our longest flight now, 11 hours- I am soo tired I haven't slept. We got on our flight from Fiji this morning at 4am, got into town at 8am and have been on the go ever since. We have just checked in and will board in an hour, not enough time for a nap though I don't want to miss the flight!


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Us and the girlsUs and the girls
Us and the girls

Sam, Zanna and Skye
Self- sufficientSelf- sufficient
Self- sufficient

Little boys fishing for dinner
Self- sufficientSelf- sufficient
Self- sufficient

Little boy fishing for dinner
Self- sufficientSelf- sufficient
Self- sufficient

Look howmany he caught, and I didn't even manage to catch one :(
Fijian VillageFijian Village
Fijian Village

The market


Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 72; dbt: 0.091s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb