Strolling on the Sandbar . . .


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands
September 22nd 2010
Published: September 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I had another long day of “nothing” on the beautiful beach at Oarsman’s. Actually, I organized my photos and got this blog up to date which took plenty of time. I lounged in the hammock too, reading. I avoided time in the sun to let my skin have some relief from the sun.

Today is the day I leave behind the beautiful beach here and move on to another island. But first, I took a long walk this morning along the side of the island. I walked to the end of the beach where my resort is, across a long row of rocks, along a couple more beaches and eventually reached a sandbar that stretched out into the ocean.

Along the walk I saw literally hundreds of hermit crabs. Every step I took cause multiple shells to scuttle away - for literally my entire walk! I couldn’t get over how many of them there were.

I went out right after breakfast, so while the sun was out and shining, it wasn’t right overhead so it wasn’t too hot yet. I didn’t meet anybody else along the way which was nice - I had it all to myself. I played music on my i-pod and just sang to myself the whole time. It was lovely.

When I got to the sandbar, I stayed there for quite awhile - though I happily could have stayed longer! It was so beautiful out there on a patch of perfect white sand surrounded by all sorts of shades of vivid blue water. I took photos and drew in the sand and splashed in the water. I took lots of deep breaths . . . it was so perfect out there. One of those spots that later I’ll remember epitomized my time in Fiji.



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.553s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 30; qc: 143; dbt: 0.3067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb