Bula from Fiji


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands
February 18th 2006
Published: February 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We landed in Fiji after what seemed to be a lifetime, but was actually 29.5 hours from beginning to end. The beginning being New York City and the end, a small island, in the Yasawa Islands of Fiji. The last leg of the trip was the most eventful. We rode in a small boat through the crystal clear turquoise/jade waters of the South Pacific, into a torrential, truly South Pacific monsoon rainstorm. After being bounced up and down on the wooden bench seats through what seemed like, through my sleep deprived eyes, 20 foot tsunami waves,we luckily arrived in one piece to Nacula Island. We were warmly greeted with huge smiles shouting "Bula!" which means hello.

My five days on the island were filled with nothing but pure relaxation. My hang out spot was the hammock hung on the beach beneath two shady palms. Every once in awhile I would force the laziness out of me and go for a long walk along the beautiful white sand beach. One day I was even convinced by a fellow traveler to join him for a hike up a mountain. The journey to the top was well worth my energy, despite the swarming mosquitos and the thick humid air. We were welcomed with stunning views onto the other side of the island, and a fantastic sunset.

Another day we went on a trip to the local village. It is inspirational to see people living life from the land. From the thatched roof bures (huts) that they live in, to the food that they eat, there is no need for anthing outside of their self-contained community. My favorite part of the village visit was going to the school where we were entertained by many singing and dancing school children. Music is deeply ingrained into their daily life. It is almost as though they are born knowing how to harmonize perfectly with eachother. The childrens' genuine smiles stretched from ear to ear as they shared with us their beautiful rhythms. We left the school buzzing from head to toe with an infectious happy, healthy energy that was given to us from the children.

Back on the mainland, we decided we would need to push back our flight to New Zealand, as J.J. (my travelmate) had a serious ear infection. Removed from the delightful ocean breeze, we were now stuck in a thick, dense humidity that was impossible to escape from. I thought the summers in Connecticut were bad but at least there you can find some relief from sitting under the shade of a tree.

Hope all is well with all of you wherever you are. Miss and love you.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



18th February 2006

Greeting all the way from Aspen
Hey Rach Yesterday I was thinking that I should email you since it has been almost a month since you left, and all I can think of is Beaches. I'm glad that you are having a great trip, sounds amazing, send me as many visions of white sand beaches as you can. Aspen is a wonderful 10*. Well missing you and hoping that you continue to keep me feeling the love of traveling with great stories. Lots of Love Avi
19th February 2006

Como te echo de menos!!!
Hola bester! I'm so glad to hear from you...glad to know that you both are safe and sound and it seems like your trip is off to such a beautiful start. I hope JJs ear infections gets better...I'll keep that in my thoughts. News from home (this was actually in the NY Times) pertains to our museaum visit in New Haven of the Machu Pichu exhibit. There is a lot of stress, contention, and disagreement between Yale and Peruvian historical societies as to whom many of the artifacts actually belong to...I guess they want them back in Peru! Thats all for now...all is well here love you and miss you!
20th February 2006

good to hear about your trip
Hi. I'm feeling pretty jealous, as you describe the relaxation that you experienced. Enjoy your adventures, and I'll enjoy ebing the armchair traveler. Rona
21st February 2006

Heeeeey you!!
Your jouneys sound amazing and beautiful... I hope all is well and wonderful in your new world... Please keep your journal entrys flowing, I admire the strong woman that you are!!! Bradley
3rd March 2006

Bula!
Ahhhh, Rach it sounds so lovely! I hope that all your travels will be as great as Fiji, and also very safe. It is only March and the snow is melting away in Breck!!! Love you girl!!
17th March 2006

Hola Raquel!
Rach- The phone number and code you gave me to leave a message didn't work! I think I needed a different code...if you get this let me know what it is or try calling again whenever you get back on Sunday! Love you so much hope all is well! xoxo lynne

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb