Returning to NZ


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Viti Levu
August 14th 2007
Published: August 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Evil robot phoneboxEvil robot phoneboxEvil robot phonebox

The arms are meant to be Fijian spears and the top bit is probably a wave... But the phoneboxes here just look like evil robots!
On the last morning we headed out to the road to wait for a bus and found a baby giant millipede! It was so cute. We had been planning to make a giant one walk onto my arm to take photos of but had never got around to it, so this was the perfect opportunity. As he walked around on my arm, he was secreting some yellowish liquid. You readers who have been paying attention may remember that millipedes leak cyanide when upset! So yes, 5 minutes later there was a definite burning sensation on my arm where he'd been and a red looking trail. Fortunately it didn't last long and I didn't die.


Watch the video of him on Youtube by clicking here.


Once in Suva, we caught a mini van to take us to a wildlife park near Sigatoka, on the coral coast. It was called Kula Eco Park. Although the entry price was quite high (FJD$20) for what it was, we enjoyed the park. I especially liked the marine aquariums and fruit bats. Bats are so cute, they licked my hand. Oh, and the snake and iguanas I got to hold. I love lizards. And snakes. And hermit crabs (of which there were none at
Angry goshawkAngry goshawkAngry goshawk

Photo by Israel.
the park unfortunately.) The only sad thing was that most of the cages were very small. But then again, it is Fiji's only wildlife park and they seem to have a good education programme for schools.

After catching a public bus up to Nadi airport, we checked out the duty free souvenirs. Again, shitty experience. All the places were expensive and staffed by unfriendly Indians. We were really tired and hot, so the plane being late for take off was quite frustrating. But we got back to Christchurch safely by about 1.30am and the customs lady let me keep my shells and carvings and tapa, which was cool.

So that is my Fiji trip over. I may post more in this blog in future, as I take smaller holidays around NZ or even to review tourism attractions I visit in Christchurch. Thanks to those who subscribed, I can tell who you are. Now I know who my true friends are ;-) Also, everyone should take a quick look over my earlier entries because I added more photos from Israel's camera.

ni sa moce! (That's Fijian for goodbye)


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Happy parrot has a crakerHappy parrot has a craker
Happy parrot has a craker

At Kula Eco Park.
Orange doveOrange dove
Orange dove

Ridiculously orange.
Having an ET momentHaving an ET moment
Having an ET moment

Seriously, check out the finger to finger action. Photo by Israel
Aquarium fish at Kula Eco parkAquarium fish at Kula Eco park
Aquarium fish at Kula Eco park

Wish my dive photos turned out this good.
IguanaIguana
Iguana

In a tiny cage, apparently awaiting release. Or something.


15th August 2007

Evil robot phonebox
really enjoyed reading your blog and your pictures are just awesome. enjoy the rest of your holidays the Evil robot phonebox is actually a sail for an ancient catamaran canoe used all around the south pacific in old days. theres still some still used around Samoa and Hawaii, the two big pole is to hold the middle of the sail

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb