Nadi to Beachcomber Island


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Mamanuca Islands
February 4th 2009
Published: February 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Oh my gosh, I arrived in paradise! I got into Nadi (pronounded Nan-di) on January 30th and realized that it was January 29th still back in the states. So crazy. I stayed in a really nice hostel for $9.00 a night. Unreal. It has a pool and bar and I stayed in a mixed dorm that is a bit cramped, but nice. Everything was very clean. The city of Nadi is nothing to speak of... it's really just a docking point for people to travel to the islands. I met an AMAZING German girl, Sandra, at the airport, and she was staying at the same hostel as me and doing the exact same trip. We hit it off right away, and did everything together.

The day after we flew in, we took off early for Port Denarau and set sail for Beachcomber Island, only about 30 minutes away by boat. Everything was very organized... impressively so. It is stereotypically the "party island", and wow did it live up to its name. The resort practically took up the entire island, which was only 1 km in perimeter. The beach was white and sandy, and we went kayaking, played volleyball, and went snorkeling. Happy hour was also quite the event. All meals were included, and the food was surprisingly tasty. I met people from ALL OVER, hardly any Americans, most of whom were on massive vacations (months to a year) that included Australia and New Zealand. I cannot believe how people from other countries travel! They just work and save up money and then quit their jobs and take off for a good chunk of the year. It is so different from America.

We stayed at Beachcomber for two nights, and then took off in the morning for Manta Ray. I'll blog about that tomorrow. I'm staying in Nadi again tonight and then take off for Melbourne in the am!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0831s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb