Au voir you French bastards… hello sunshine.


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands
January 18th 2007
Published: January 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This morning we were awoken by a combination of my Casio wristwatch alarm, a gecko croaking and yet another Tahitian downpour - it was 4AM.

As Gina and I packed our last few items, we looked at one another and silently acknowledged that we couldn’t wait to get the hell out of Tahiti. By the time we boarded Air New Zealand 23, the continuation of our flight from Los Angeles which hops from Papeete to Rarotonga to Nadi to Auckland, we were both praying for sunshine at our next destination. We weren’t disappointed.

Shortly after my feet hit the tarmac in Rarotonga, I knew our luck had changed. The sky was a brilliant blue dotted with cotton ball clouds. I turned back to discover Gina stuck behind two invalid British women hobbling down the stairs; she wasn’t happy. I think if the situation had prolonged itself any further, Gina would have pushed the women down and walked right over them (see picture).

After clearing Customs, we boarded a large white van with three other couples destined for Muri Beach. Upon arrival, we discover our hotel, a collection of self-contained bungalows, is adjacent to a spectacular turquoise lagoon that is protected from the ocean by a large reef system. Gina’s face lit-up with excitement as she gazed out onto the lagoon and said, “I’m excited about spending a week here.” Me too.

We lazed about most of the day, soaking up sunshine and the salt air. Our lunch at the Rarotonga Sailing Club next door was followed by a prolonged nap, some reading and Internet time. Due to our early morning, we decided to retire early with eager anticipation for the rest of our stay in Rarotonga.






Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



19th January 2007

Pasty!
Thank God you guys finally got sun... my eyes were hurting looking at your pale complexions! Miss you two crazy bastards :o)
19th January 2007

Sunshine
It's about time. We were getting worried. Gina, your look coming down the ramp is priceless.
20th January 2007

Oh My God
Friggin beautiful....bluest water - I would even attempt swimming UNDER water.....just because I would know someone would see me drowning.....and we were concerned that you would be in a place where you would be "homesick" yeah right!
22nd January 2007

My people welcome you.
On behalf of all the "Cook's" out there (my maiden name is Cook), I extend you a great big welcome to the Cook Islands. Too bad none of my family owns them, as I certainly would also be traveling around the world right now :)

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb