Sunning in the South Pacific


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
September 12th 2006
Published: September 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yes thats right folks I just escaped the joys of New Zealand winter for whole 11 days in the tropical paradise of Rarotonga!! I'd no idea where the place was before I got there, so lets bascially say the Cook Islands are in the middle of the Pacific, south of Hawaii and east of French Polynesia. You can look it up if you want but the place is too small to be on most maps!

Since I last blogged I spent a few weeks in a placed called Little River just outside Chch, with Sally and Richard Gabric, a Japanese wwoofer called Kako and their three dogs. This was one of the good wwoof farms, well set up for the job, you can tell Sally has been doing it for 18 years. The area was beautiful and I did get out and about dispite three days or so indoors when the snow came down! After one too many a cold 7.30am wake up, the South Pacific sprang to mind.....

So I find myself in Rarotonga, which would be recognised by an follow of 'Lost'! Its a fairly small island that you can bike around in 3 hours easily, but there was also the 'inner' road with a few banks for the more challening days. It rained a lot when I first arrived, but was still 10 degrees warmer then nz, so I wasn't complaining! Having done town in an hour or two, we all quickly turned to adventure activities - firslty with a cross island trek from north to south. I'm never going to be able to make this sound like the massive achievement that it was!! The 'track', was very confusing in parts, mostly just directing you to a muddy drop and expecting you to get on with it! It was a great day but i'm gald I went with others.

Apart from some biking, snorkling and a 4wd tour I basically just relaxed after this walked on the beach, got drunk - it was actually like being on holiday! I also meet a really good group of people, some of whom are travelling onto nz and oz, which is good. I decided on Raro, over Fiji, because Lisa from Te Nikau told me it was more 'real'. This is def the sense I would report if any of you thought of a holiday there. There are
Cross Island WalkCross Island WalkCross Island Walk

One of the many river crossing.
very few shops, and the locals are out in the same bars and clubs as we were, they were even getting involved in the disco after the island dancing night (something I thought they only did for the tourists). I hitched into town with a local one night, who I told i'd have like a motorcycle for the week but don't have a driver's licence, - 'Dude, neither do I!', he says, driving the car! Apparently you don't need one, or helmets, or to be sober etc - unless something goes wrong then they say it was all your own fault! Its an amazingly chilled place (lots of lazy dogs and thousnds of wild chickens), great view and loads of positive energy.









Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Muri BeachMuri Beach
Muri Beach

Half way around the bike ride
The beachThe beach
The beach

The sun comes out at last!
Last NightLast Night
Last Night

Jo, Charile and Scott
Lazy DogsLazy Dogs
Lazy Dogs

Like Mexico Raro has lots of dogs, but the special lazy kind


13th September 2006

Sounds Lovely
Glad to see you are enjoying your trip, I like to read about your adventures as Glenn and I are still planning oz and nz next year although it will probably be more sedate than your trip. Photos are lovely. All well in the Tourist Information but we are moving to Market Street soon (much bigger premises) everyone says hi. Best Wishes AnnT xxx
30th March 2007

Need Wwoofers for Garden & Plantation
We're the only all organic farmers on Aitutaki (40 minutes by plane from Rarotonga). We also have plantations, fruit market and supply produce to tourists. Come and share in a unique experiece with great food and comfortable surroundings. Please call Sonja or Tauono at (682) 31-562 or send an e-mail to: lounge@aitutaki.net.ck

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb