Cook Islands


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
September 13th 2006
Published: December 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It was my Uncle Dick's Second trip to the airport in 3 days as I was a no show for my scheduled flight. Dick proceeded to show around me around the island of Roatonga. We checked out the historical buildings and then cruised over to his friend’s house where they have a steam train that they had imported and restored and laid track for. Big boy toys.

My uncle is pretty handy and spent most his days working on projects of his own and often other peoples. Outside the work shop there is always things to do often in the Orchard where all kinds of fruit and vegies grow, along with chooks and pigs. He has made a number of impressive boats including glass bottom boat and a light weight trimaran as well as a number of building projects including a backpackers in town.
One day we milled part of a tree together with a massive chainsaw.

Dick’s latest claim to fame is making the treasure chests for Survivor Cook islands for which they paid a handsome bounty. So look out for them. Dick’s wife Thai is a Cook Islander and she is very involved in local activities and spends allot of time cooking local specialties.

After my tour was completed after a lap of the island I was shown to my Uncles step son Steve’s house, another one of my uncles projects.
Steve is a Local Entity on the island. A former representative Rugby player and traditional dance champion, singer and as he would be sure to tell you, the best fisherman on the island. Firsts few days I spent out on the water as designated anchor man on Steve’s fishing charters on which everyone always catches fish.

I read in the paper that the running club were running a half marathon around the airport on the weekend. So I cruised down there and gave it a crack. Well I ran half a half marathon... and nearly died on this hot humid morning. Afterwards I met a guy from the northern beaches of Sydney who had surfing on the island wired and filled me in on all the whens and wheres and hows.
After this I surfed most days, mostly at a wave right near where I was staying
which you could paddle straight out to, but other than that you had make a fair paddle outs, battling strong currents and over sharp coral and sea urchins.

Surfed one particularly gnarly right which broke in a narrow pass with a very strong rip running through it. Infact, while I was there a snorkeller lost his life being dragged out a similar near by pass. The wave was 8 to 10 foot and broke in relatively deep water but as soon as you were up you were dodging coral bombies.

I spent a few nights Hanging out at the Whatever Bar with Steve where he performs Island music on ukuleles with a group of his mates.

For transport I hired a moped which I used to cruise around the island 1 or 2 times a day checking the surf.

Most nights I rode around the island and caught up with my uncle to catch up and watch movies. Before I knew it was my last night, Dinner with Dick and Tai then off to the airport.

Thanks to Dick Tai and Steve for their awesome hospitality.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



6th December 2006

Debbie d
ok quite jealous..... slightly, massively! Sounds like awesome times. I'm only a little bit jealous. YOu can get Craig's jam in NZ (Where all awesome things are birthed!!!)
9th December 2006

Awesome Dibbie
Does that include you....you know, awesome things from New Zealand ?? :)

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb