Sunset Song


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
May 9th 2006
Published: May 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday let me down on the weather at first, my private room for 2 days was no more as 2 girls from Ireland moved into my 3 bed room, did not think I'd end up in 'mixed' situation so soon, with such a small room it's just a little bit awkward.

Best thing was the amazing sunset last night, sitting out with my new found possee watching the colours change and the gigantic waves pound the reef but never reaching us. Was so far the biggest 'ah' moment, so this is why I ate disgusting packed lunches for so long and sold the car etc etc. One couple who've booked a little beach villa for next week have invited us for dinner next week, could be the most civilised thing I do for a while.

Today I awoke to the sound of rain and was resigned to a day of 'Scottish' Weather, but in no time at all it went to hot, sunny and breezy, my favourtie weather. I caught the local bus which circles the Island (only 32km) into the only place that counts as a town on the island. Met at the stop a guy from Canada and a girl from Manchester who had just arrived at the hostel, so we went for a treat breakfast (fed up of porridge/noodles/bananas my new staple) which was as bountifull as any full english I've had at home, and a MASSIVE BOWL of well fine cappucinio, all for the price of a big mac meal back home, bargain!

There was a little hen walking around the cafe so I could not help but resist her beady eye and flick bits of my scrambled egg for her enjoyment. (should you feed a hen egg? I can't remember but then I didn't have any corn or mash on my dish)

Had a look around the little town surround by the most lush green, erratically shaped little mountains I've ever seen. Saw the wreck of the Maitai that hit the reef back in 1916, it's just the boiler really now but still, looks cool.

Got the bus back the opposite way so as to see the whole island, saw the beach place I'm moving to on Thurday and got very excited, there are little wooded islands you can wade out to at low tide! And sitting in the back of the bus, the breeze on my face, beats the district line trundling from Stamford Brook to Victoria.

So all in all with the very chilled pace of life on the cooks I reckon I'll do okay with 2 weeks here, it's definately growing on me, and with my cover up and factor 50, i'm avoiding getting burned.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1009s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb