Rarotonga


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
February 9th 2009
Published: February 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

More South Pacific


Yesterday was a splendid day. We awoke to another perfect view, this time the largest of the Cook Islands, Rarotonga. I went on a snorkeling trip in a secluded lagoon. The water was warmer than any I've ever been in and perfectly clear. Lots of beutiful fish around the coral including what I think were clown fish...so funny-looking with their yellow-striped mouth, blue stripe over the eyes and red stripe on the back. They came up to me as if they were as curious about me as I was about them. There were no instructions about snorkeling, just "Here's your snorkel and goggles," so I was glad I had done it before. We went out to an island and had a barbeque lunch of tuna, papaya and fried bananas -- terrific. This island reminded me of Holland America's private one, only this one was real. The elaborated tattooed guides made the lunch, then explained everything there is to know about coconuts -- including sprinkling coconut milk all over our arms to show us how moisturizing it was. They also demonstrated about 10 of the 375 ways to tie a sarong. We ended up on the last tender back to the ship -- everyone was having such a good time.
Now we have two days at sea. We cross the International dateline, too, so it will be the 12th when we get to Tonga.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1006kb