Street Fighting Man (sorta)


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
September 23rd 2008
Published: September 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Street Fighting Man (sorta)



So here it is. I told you I get creative sometimes and I got creative today. First, a brief backstory though.

Back in the winter of 2007-08 there was a select group of individuals who spent more hours playing darts than most varsity athletes spend at practice. We considered applying for varsity status but since we had no girls (sad) we figured we'd run into problems with Title 9 so we accepted club status, although we never actually told anyone besides me. Anyways, I was the overzealous everything of the club and I set up a website where we kept our online scoring, official rules, and even player bios and pictures. Sadly Union has removed the site but maybe it'll be back some day, I did save the html. The player bios were quite creative and normally extremely exaggerated and silly. Mine was actually a reworking of the intro song from the Fresh Prince of Belaire (sp?) if you can remember those days. To announce the start of a darts session I even wrote poems sometimes, to the confusion of many of the players. This is when my creativity took hold and is the prequel to the following.

So here it is. The much anticipated Krauss re-write of a classic Rolling Stones song. Pull out your old CD's and turn on Street Fighting Man while you read this (alternatively I'm sure it's on youtube.com somewhere).


Rowing Man


Lyrics modified by Andy Krauss, original by Rolling Stones

Everywhere I hear the sound of roaring, crashing waves, boy
'Cause summer's here and the time is right for rowing in the river, boy
But what can a Union boy do
Except to paddle for a outrigger club
'Cause in sleepy Cook Islands town
There's just no place for a rowing man
No

Hey! Think the time is right for a Watson Fellowship excursion
'Cause where I live the thing to do is get a graduate education
Well, then what can a Union boy do
Except to paddle for an outrigger club
'Cause in sleepy Cook Islands town
There's no place for a rowing man
No

Hey! Said my name is Andy Krauss
I'll glue and fiberglass, I'll measure offsets, I'll repair all of the paddles
Well, what can a Union boy do
Except to paddle for an outrigger club
'Cause in sleepy Cook Islands town
There's just no place for a rowing man
No



Tada! So maybe some lines are short a few syllables or have a few extra but I can't count syllables and still have to look up every word when I write a haiku (makes it take a lot longer). I'm sure if you stretch out or slur some words together there will eventually be a professional recording. I especially like the second verse. Enjoy and let me know if you think up any other well known songs that I could rewrite.

Advertisement



24th October 2008

Someone has too much time on his hands. Do you need me to send you Heroes season 3 or Southpark or something? Btw, this new show called True Blood is awesome.
22nd December 2008

awesommmme
aww i love seeing your creative side come out! we should definitely pursue a songwriting career for you. i would suggest changing "Except to paddle for an outrigger club" to "paddle an outrigger canoe" though to rhyme with "Union boy do" - perfect, right?! yeah.

Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb