Rarotonga


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
August 6th 2008
Published: August 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Matt was still poorly when we woke up so we couldn’t do anything much today.

I set off to the shops to buy him some juice as that was all that he felt he could stomach. I wandered down to the shops via the beach and walked along with some of the stray dogs that seem to live there (there are three and they’re all really friendly and follow you everywhere). I couldn’t resist the pain au chocolates again at the shop - it was my reward for having to walk back with heavy bags full of juice and water.

Matt was still feeling poorly so I made myself some breakfast and settled onto the balcony with a coffee to enjoy the view. Feeling restless I headed down to the beach for a walk and then sat by some rock pools watching the fish. You can see so many fish even in the shallows and it‘s amazing how long you can watch them without getting bored.

In the afternoon I headed back to the villa and read my book on the balcony while Matt lay in bed. By the evening he had perked up a bit and I managed to drag him out onto the beach in front of our villa for some fresh evening air.

The plan had been to go out for food at one of the local resorts but as Matt wasn’t eating we stayed in and I opened a bottle of NZ wine on the balcony and read my book instead.

Self catering is getting boring - we haven’t had any meat since Sunday so both of us are starting to crave steaks! Maybe tomorrow Matt will be up to eating out as that seems to be the only affordable way to eat meat here.

Gwen (the owner of our villa who lives next door) has two very noisy cats that meow all night long and we spent the evening drinking wine (me not Matt) and playing with one of them until it got very dark and we had to move inside.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.2734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb