Rarotonga


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
January 26th 2004
Published: May 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Muri LagoonMuri LagoonMuri Lagoon

Sunrise....

The Adventure Begins



Finally after flying from London via Los Angeles and Tahiti I land in the Cook Islands on Rarotonga.

I had never been to the tropics before, therefore the temperature on leaving the plane was fantastic after the dull cold of the English winter.... that combined with a whole load of flowers being popped on my head as part of a welcome by my driver... was a fantastic start to my year on the hoof.

I stayed down south at Muri beach, approximately 10m from my hut was the beach and blue lagoon heading a good 400m out to the reef and small islands all topped off by white sand and nothing happening apart from the wind cruising through the trees.

The cook islands are famous for there triangular coins..... and maybe there black pearls...... I just liked it for the friendly folks and great intro to the tropics and amazing fresh sea food..... I would have probably found out more about the place but it was only a three stopover on the way to New Zealand.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb