If its a dump call it a dump


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Port Hedland
June 27th 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I left early the next morning for the 6 hour drive to Port Headland. I usually try and leave early so that I get time at the next place to have a look around before moving on the next day. In the case of Port Headland I wish I hadn't. The guide book says nothing about how much of a dump the town is. I hope no one from Port Headland will ever read this. Actually I hope they do, and then maybe they will do something about their awful town.
There should be a large sign and a gate on the entrance to Port Headland warning tourists not to go in, they will only be disappointed.
The town centre consisted of a couple of car dealers and several boarded up shops. The best way to describe this town only Dad will understand. It resembles Gordon's farm before they cleaned it up. Only multiply the rusty junk by about 50 and you are somewhere close to what Port Headland looks like.

The hostel was no better. It was dirty, dark and only being used by people that were working on the boat yard. Nobody wanted to talk and as they were all one big family it was not a fun night. The night was made even worse by being bitten about 12 times. (Not by the residents but my mosquitoes).

Needless to say I was up very early the next morning and on my way to Exmouth.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb