my first entry ever


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Port Hedland
October 30th 2005
Published: January 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello… well, my name is Hadas, and I’ve been travelling around Australia for about 3 and a half months now.



It all started in July when me and my friend Adi flew over to Sydney from Israel (that’s where I live), we spent 3 months in the east coast, travelling from Sydney all the way up to Cairns, then Adi had to go back home and I flew to Perth.



In Perth I met this really nice girl called Ester, she was my room mate in my hostel and we really hit it off (I guess I’m not the only nut around), Ester’s been staying on this cattle station that’s located in the middle of the outback (or “the bush”, as they call it here) I thought it was the coolest thing I’ve heard, since coming from Israel my only experience dealing with cows and stuff is going visiting my aunt in the kibutz.



Ester convinced the owners, Colin and Betty to let me help out on the station and that’s how I found my self on a bus basically headed to the middle of nowhere… (it was a night bus and I’m pretty sure we hit some kangaroos on the way, I was trying to sleep so I didn’t pay that much attention).



Anyway this really nice bloke (that means guy in Ozzi land- a.k.a: Australia) called Marty met me at the bus station and we drove off to the station.



I personally think this is one of the coolest things I’ve ever done in my life, I get to feed the ducks and the chickens and even this really cute donkey named Wonkey (if u don’t what wonkey means then look it up).

I’ve been playing around with Ellie the dog (she’s my roommate) and me and Ester have been going of to cool places like this huge red rock (sort of like a big Ayres Rock) that has a lot of weird aboriginal carvings on them and we did this night walk and during our walk we found a moon snake and had to kill it (unfortunately they are poisonous).



They are doing some mining here and I got to go out with one of the geologists and see a mining rig and it was really cool to see…



Betty's going off to visit some friends for a week, and guess who the cooks going to be? ... yes me...



Well.. I guess that’s about it for my very first blog entry (I don’t think I’ll be updating to frequently- sorry)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb