A month and a day later - bye Perth, hello Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
December 2nd 2011
Published: December 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

So the day's finally arrived. I'm off to Cairns tonight. Well in a minute actually, as I'm sitting here at the airport contemplating how the hell I manage to stay here. I think I'm in need of a single Perth man to propose immediate marriage in order to get a visa to stay here. Right now however I'm secretly hoping that my friends stage some sort of movie-style kidnap of me so that I can be back in The Sov having a few beers with them, on this every so toasty night (still 35 degrees at 7pm). I draw the line however at the man behind me being the proposer - given his fondness for burping and farting every 30 seconds. Kidnap better happen quickly!

For my final day, Jo, Paul and I headed to Scarborough beach. I drove and surprisingly for both my passengers and I, navigated there at the first time of asking. It's a sign - I know my way round so well I need to stay here. Have I mentioned that before by any chance?

It's a little warmer on this beach than its Yorkshire counterpart at this time of year, but with similar levels of breeze I'd imagine. The sand was blowing well and giving everyone a good exfoliation just sitting at the water's edge. Going for a swim was amazing - the water was ice cold but there was a big sand bank in front of where we'd strapped down the beach towels, where you could stand up and catch waves as they broke. The beach was empty when we got there and packed to the rafters when we left at lunchtime. When I say packed however, I mean packed for Perth - i.e. everyone's got at least 10 metres between them and the nearest sunworshipper. Hardly Bournemouth beach-packed on the hottest day of the year....

After a bite to eat at a seafront cafe, it was back to Mel and Dave's for a quick load of washing, a final pack, shower and a little beer for the road. Very sad to be going - they've been as always the most amazing hosts and I'm gutted I can't stay for longer with them. There's a chance I'll be able to meet up with them in January, so I'll have to keep hoping.

And now at the airport. With the burpy man. A few postcards written (gutted that I've lost 25 first class stamps too - the equivalent of about £25 quid...GAH!) and a few more stamps purchased and it's now time to check in. The car's been abandoned at the rentals return, complete with a beachful of sand and dead bugs on the windscreen. Wonder what I'll be driving next? I'm guessing a big camper van....watch this space!

Farewell Perth - I won't leave it so long before I come back here next time. The time here has helped me remember all the great stuff and put to bed any bad memories from last time. I've had a total blast - all I need to do now is find that husband. Two hours left to hunt him down at the airport, or be kidnapped to go to the pub....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 10; qc: 18; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.5kb