Heading for 5 pairs of flip flops...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
November 2nd 2011
Published: November 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Lindsey's up and about for work early, and i'm not far behind her. I need to get out and into the city - I just can't help myself! Desperate to go for a huge long walk to take in the sights of the city and see if I can spot any differences from the last time I was here.

I set off and walk from Mount Lawley straight down Beaufort Street and into the city. It's perfect - one long road where you can see the skyscrapers in the distance creep ever closer the more steps you take. The weather today is a screaming 32 degrees and a thunderstorm is coming our way this evening. In the half an hour it takes me to walk down to the city (stopping to nose in shops on the way), I can feel it's already time for more anti-lobster lotion, factor 30 all the way...

I stopped at the post office to get a new Aussie SIM for my phone to save me from enormous UK bills. I was so relieved to get in the air con of the post office - I was baking and looking like someone had thrown a bucket of water over my head. The queue was enormous...I waited and waited my turn and when I got to the front of the queue....I was told I needed my passport to get a SIM. Crap. So back up Beaufort St I trekked, and back to the house to retrieve the passport. Then back down Beaufort St again and back to the Post Office. By the time I got back for the second time, I'm looking like I've been baked in the oven at 240 degrees, then jet washed with a power hose. But at least I managed to leave with a SIM card...

I wandered through the city, taking in the malls for cooling down, and the Swan River for sightseeing. A stop at The Long Shag on the river for a beer and lunch (AUD 28, so £19-ish - damn this exchange rate), and a walk through the cultural centre to see the museums and galleries that I'll investigate once the weather turns, and it was time to head back. Another long walk along Beaufort St ahead. At this rate, I'll be on pair of flip flops number 6 - these things aren't designed for walking marathons....

Dinner with Lindsey and her lovely boyfriend Bret at Cottesloe to finish the day. We sat outside on the veranda overlooking the beach, watching a few crackpots go swimming in what is still quite chilly water. We got there just in time to see the final setting of the sun, so the skies were glowing a beautiful pinky orange. The storm has just touched us quickly and is due to hit more tomorrow so it was a lovely peaceful evening, eating gorgeous food in gorgeous company.

I might start to bore you with this but seriously...I love this city....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb