In the Beginning


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
March 1st 2011
Published: March 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

My adventure has begun.
Departed slightly late from Heathrow as some poor soul decided to have a heart attack, so we had to wait for an ambulance, thankfully he arrived a passenger but didn’t leave as freight!
Flight was ok didn’t sleep much watched lots of movies including ‘Between a rock and hard place’ an amazing film of a guy with so much guts it’s got to be seen, I did feel slightly worried about watching it as the guy in the next but one seat didn’t have any fingers on either hand so didn’t make eye contact with him thereafter! Had a very boring guy called Trevor who came from Coventry (hey I don’t have anything against Coventry) sat next to me on the 1st leg of the journey to Singapore, I think he quite fancied me, oh yes in your dreams Granddad - ooh shit I forgot I am married to one!
Taxi to the hotel, taking in the beautiful sights, building so tall, lighting up against a beautiful clear sky - now I am excited!
Arrived at the Hotel, booked in and was told they had upgraded me – fab a lone traveller in suite you could house 45 locals! Bonus, grabbed a small beer (ok might have been a couple more! – local brew ‘Tiger’ in the hotel bar and crashed at around 10.30pm – wide awake club at 3am, so picked up my 1st book and had finished it by 9am when I left the hotel and travelled to the Singapore Botanic Gardens, absolutely stunning spent hours wandering through lush rain forests, miles of palm trees, banana plantations (but no Nana’s on the trees), through the Ginger gardens and the most beautiful Orchid Garden (for those that don’t know these are my favourite flowers – note to you guys Dawn’s birthday 2nd September). I have never seen so many varieties and colours it really was fab!
Feet aching grabbed a cab into the main shopping area talk about massive, every type of shop imaginable, top end designer shops to tacky souvenir shops, managed to be quite good only bought one pair of shoes and one handbag, quick spot of lunch at a dodgy looking café – bit like a Tom Yam soup but not quite as spicy! Good Tucker (see already picking up the lingo ready for Oz!), then it rained retreated to a bar for a ‘Tiger’ and then it really really rained, thunder/lightening and a downpour that I haven’t seen since my Hong Kong days! Finally left the bar and tried to get a cab 1 ½ hours later managed to find one I think the whole of the city was searching the same time as me!
Hotel bound slightly soggy (note to myself don’t wear flip-flops when it rains and carry an Umbrella!) Showered ready to sample the nightlife, laid down on the bed and woke up and 10.30pm starving managed to talk the hotel into cooking me a local speciality Crab and King Prawn Noodles – gorgeous but a plate so huge I only managed half.
Sat now listening to the fountain and some dodgy singers not really sure of what gender! With a G & T in hand almost ready for beddy buys.
A great 1st day in Singapore check in tomorrow for the next update!
Day 2
Slept until 5am! Waiting for the sun to rise! So thought I would plan my day – Bus into the City Centre. MRT to Chinatown one of Singapore’s 3 ethnic enclaves, it apparently remains unchanged from its early days, Traditions and centuries old practices still flourish there in shop houses-lined streets that bustle with activity probably very much like Hong Kong back in the late 80’s. Chinatown certainly lived up to expectations and reminded very much of Hong Kong, an amazing mixture of East meets West, beautiful Temples nestling among slick glass and steel skyscrapers. Wandered around the markets and the aroma of spices filled the air to be followed quite quickly by the stench of The durian, widely known and revered in South East Asia as the "king of fruits", the durian is distinctive for its large size, unique pong, and formidable thorn covered husk. The edible flesh emits a distinctive odour/pong, strong and penetrating even when the husk is intact. Some people regard the durian as fragrant; others find the aroma overpowering and offensive. The smell evokes reactions from deep appreciation to intense disgust, and has been described variously as almonds (NOT), rotten onions (POSSIBLY), turpentine (NOT) gym socks (POSSIBLY) or just shit (YES that’s the one!), The odour has led to this fruit being forbidden to be eaten in the streets of in Singapore.
Having had my culture fix my next port of call was the famous Raffles hotel, what an amazing piece of colonial history, a beautiful white building steeped with history, beautifully restored to its former glory, well what else could I do but take a seat and order a Singapore sling or two. Walked for miles today my feet are now feeling battered and bruised and a blister the size of 10 pence has appeared on my right foot!

Day 3 (final day! Or maybe not)
Up at 3am this jetlag is really starting to get to me! Flight booked for 9am to Perth, cab to the airport to be told it has been cancelled! Oh dear what a shame! Bus organised to take us to a hotel, Brucie bonus booked into my suite at the Carlton had breakfast and planned my extra day, jumped on open top ‘Grockle’ bus and toured the whole of the City, jumped off at the Singapore Flyer! (The world’s largest Giant Observation Wheel), for those that don’t know I suffer serious vertigo and struggle to even go down the escalator in the Dolphin centre! This was going to be a major feat for me! Travelling up through the glass walkway my hands started to shake which quickly followed throughout the rest of my body, I joined the queue and watched as a pod rolled towards me – could I do it? I virtually threw myself through the door and grabbed hold of the handrail, hanging on for dear life, knuckles white; sweating profusely I had done it! Slowly oh so slowly I began my journey, still shaking I braved it and moved to the front of the pod, climbing higher and higher the sights that met me were just incredible! Towering 165 metres yes 165 metres above the city, totally unobstructed views in every direction, and breathtaking sights of Singapore and in the distance I could just make out Malaysia and Indonesia. It truly was an amazing experience which I never thought I would achieve and I feel very proud of myself! With adrenaline surging what next! Now feeling very brave I decided to something else I never thought I would do travel up to the Marina Bay Sands, a 58 story building built on 3 pillars with a ship nestled on the top, straight up to the observation platform for more stunning views over the City, moving up to the very top an amazing rooftop swimming pool, unfortunately it had just closed, feeling very proud of myself I moved to the level below and ordered a Martini and watched the sun go down – my god what a day! Sydney Bridge next and never say never perhaps a Bungee jump!!!!
Day 4
Up at 4am, slowly getting there! Bus arrives at 6.45 to take me back to the airport for my 9am flight to Perth, arrive at around 3pm to be met by Steve an old mate from school, who moved to Perth 5 years ago. Stop off at the pub on the way home a huge place with a restaurant, 2 bars and a fully functioning betting shop! A bit bizarre but apparently a lot of the Aussie pubs have them!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb