"Waltzing Paris" doesn't have the same ring...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
April 17th 2008
Published: April 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

April 6-April17
Last week wasn’t so exciting. I had two papers due, a lab practical, and a theory test. There’s been some stress, related to personal issues and finding a place to live next year. So the weekend came as a welcome distraction from all that unpleasantness.
Friday night (April 11), I went on the Tommy More River Cruise. We dressed up based on the theme “Dreams and Fantasy,” and went out on a big boat to coast up and down the river. I dressed as Paris Hilton (and no, I do not dream of being Miss Hilton, but I dream of having her money, and I’m pretty sure she lives in a fantasy world). Basically, it was a low-effort costume of super-large sunglasses and a stuffed pink poodle I carried around to represent her dog Tinkerbell. I also submitted to having my nails painted the brightest shade of pink known to the history of mankind. The river cruise was fairly fun, albeit with a few significant hiccups. You see, we weren’t warned to bring ID, and since this was a private party (and tickets were only sold to those 18 and older) many people didn’t theirs. But the boat captain wouldn’t let ANYONE drink on the boat, because not everyone had ID. This made many people disgruntled. We still danced to the sometimes bad choices of music, but the mood was spoiled a bit. And then we got kicked off early (for a still unexplained reason). So I ended up walking back to Tommy More, rather than waiting over an hour for the buses to pick us up. But at least I went and had some fun, although you’d think since it ended early we’d get some sort of partial refund. Oh well.
Saturday I slept really late (people drank past 4am to make up for the river cruise incident) and that evening I went to go see greyhound racing. I met Sarah, John, and his friends at the city train station, and we took the train to Cannington. The greyhound racing was fun, I thought, even though the long breaks between races could get monotonous. I tried to take pictures and failed miserably (I don’t know anything about night settings on this camera, and when I tried to use manual settings to get a faster shutter speed to capture the racing greyhounds clearly, my pictures turned out black). So
River cruise 2River cruise 2River cruise 2

Me and assorted Disney princesses
most of the pictures are blurry. I did bet on one race, on a dog named Size Can Matter (an interesting name I thought). I won $6.90. So yay for me.
Sunday afternoon I played one game of basketball for our inter-college sports competition (the only game the girls won apparently, which I don’t understand since a lot of the girls were better than me, and they stayed) and then left to go watch the Fremantle Dockers play the Richmond Tigers in an AFL match. This one was cool because it wasn’t just a scrimmage, so the fans were out in force. Unfortunately for the Dockers fans, Richmond kicked their butts. Good thing John, Shannon, and I were rooting for the away team (the Dockers and the West Coast Eagles are WA rivals). So that was good.
This week hasn’t been very hectic. Monday I spent the afternoon with Zach at the beach. Tuesday I cleaned cat cages and generally helped out at the vet’s. Today I held a little gold-colored python (found in WA, but I don’t remember the name) for half our herpetology lab (it was ironic I was holding this guy and counting mid-body scales on his
River cruise 3River cruise 3River cruise 3

Jen and I. Strikin' a pose!
preserved brethren at the same time). It rained and was chilly today. I’ve tried to get myself to work on a paper due after the mid-semester break, but I have no motivation. I’m excited about the trip up to Exmouth I’m going on next week. I’ll try to remember details of all the stuff I see for when I get back, and I’ll take lots of pictures. I even bought an underwater camera for this trip, but unless you come see me when I’m back, you won’t get to see those pictures :-).



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

River cruise 4River cruise 4
River cruise 4

Alice and I. For purely silly purposes, we decided to show off our painted nails. :-)
River cruise  5River cruise  5
River cruise 5

Zach and I. I just realized I wasn't wearing a necklace that night. Oh, well.
The fuzzy bunnyThe fuzzy bunny
The fuzzy bunny

I named it Foo-foo.
Walking the dogs aroundWalking the dogs around
Walking the dogs around

It didn't make sense that the starting gate was all the way across the track from where they warm up the dogs, but then I hypothesized that they want the bet-placers to take a last look at the dogs before the race.
Greyhound Racing 5Greyhound Racing 5
Greyhound Racing 5

This dog won her race.
The starting gateThe starting gate
The starting gate

Look, you can see #3 and #1 out in front from the start- I think #1 came in second place.
The tractorThe tractor
The tractor

Personally, I think he ran over those stuffed animals and stuck him in his grate as grisly trophies...
Size Can MatterSize Can Matter
Size Can Matter

That was the dog's name. I bet $2 on him. He had an interesting name, he was #4, and he wore blue. What a winning combination.


17th April 2008

Oh well, I tried
I have a video of the greyhound race I bet on- but the video uploader on this site wouldn't load it.

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb