2 week madness


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
March 13th 2008
Published: March 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tomorrow marks the 2 week point before departure



It's funny to think that in 2 weeks I won't be living in Perth anymore. This has been home since 1991, and all travel has been done in the company of family, friends or partner. My first solo overseas jaunt is to a country where I don't speak the language, I have less than few acquaintances, and I will be living alone (also a first). Wow.

Mum reinforced the need for good communication today. Although they are excited for me, and have done this sort of thing before -when they were younger - they're still going to worry. This is both reassuring...and occasionally annoying, I like that they will worry a bit because it means that they'll be thinking of me, and missing me (which is a terribly self centred thing, but it's nice to know you're thought of, right?)...and it's annoying because at the same time as wanting that reassurance, you also want to think that people think you are capable and resourceful, and that you are able to succeed at anything you put a hand to..... can you say paradox?

In the lead-up to leaving, I am only now realising how beautiful my city is, and becoming attached to it that little bit more. Working in the city centre has given me a hand in this, and since I finish at 3.30, I am able to have a wander around while everything is open. I might take a slightly different walking route and find a cozy little cafe, or bar, or sushi place (i have to get some practise in right?). Or i might just walk and observe the different people....try to pick out students vs. locals.......goths vs. emos, or I might wander around a different bookshop each afternoon. Knowing you're not going to see some-thing/one/where makes it/them/it all the more special I guess. I'm trying to soak upas much of Perth as I can, so I can have some nice memories to keep me company (both intangible and digital ones). Perhaps it would be a better idea to go out of my way to have some negative experiences in order to miss it less? So far the list of things i'll miss is ENORMOUS......and I have a feeling it's only going to become longer over the next fortnight.

I took some students on an excursion yesterday to an annual event that takes place at one of our most popular beaches, Cottesloe.

It's called "Sculpture by the Sea and has been running for 4 years now. There are over 50 contributors this year. International artists all put forward some of their work, and Cottesloe beach is turned into a sculpture park for 2 weeks. Most of the sculptures are for sale and range from about $5,000 to $85,000 (too bad it's the latter that caught my eye).

I have dinners, drinks, coffee dates, small outings/travel and evenings of dance planned for the next two weeks... More memories to make me cry when i'm alone I guess. I will treasure them though. I'm trying to prepare mentally for this trip, but it's hard because i dont really know what to expect from it all. Japan is so foreign to me, and yet I can't wait to jump right in. Wish me luck!






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



24th March 2008

what an adventure!
I'm so excited for you, Nikky! Thanks for linking to this in your last e-mail. I'll be reading regularly to catch your tidbits and insights, thanks to the incredibly connective tissues of the Internet. Not to sound horribly cheesy or anything, but... you go, girl! To Japan! Wow! Enjoy every second! much love from your cousin Laura xooxox
31st March 2008

Thankyou!
Wow! I didn;t even know I had a comment - still new to this site. I've arrived in Japan now, and i'm loving every second... I have to make my Japanese better though aaah! Keep me updated on your goings on too Laura... You inspire me! xxx Nikky

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb