Go West


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
September 9th 2005
Published: November 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

- FOOD: 2 minute noodles

- PEOPLE: Loud snorer as a dormmate; sprawled out dormmate, weird Japanese dormmate, loud hostel mates, patronising woman telling me how to use the obvious to work cooker, drunk man pouring his heart out (get me outta this hostel!).

- AREA: Manky hostel with an impossible to reach top bunk; laid back city that I love - Bell Tower, palm tree lined financial district, peaceful and modern buildings, generally nice feel.

- WEATHER: Back to the grey and cold


Fri 9th Sep: I didn't get much sleep as there was a major snorer in the dorm and it was bloody hot. But I managed to get up in time to catch my flight to Perth. I was very surprised to find that the weather was grey and cold! I found the cheapest hostel that did pick up from the airport and hung around waiting for the pick up. The Brit guy who was the pick up was a bit 'hey man' and the hostel was manky as. There was a guy all sprawled across the double bed hidden by the sheets and a bunk. With stuff on the bottom bunk. With no ladder to reach the top bunk. With the top bunk being too high for me to get on.

I left the hostel asap to check out the city. I immediately liked it a lot - it has a very nice, laid back feel. I walked around and then to the Bell Tower. There are palm trees lining the streets where the tall financial buildings are, making them seem so much less... financial.
I walked past the harbour, the supreme courts, the museum and library. All of which are peaceful and modern.

Then back to the hostel from hell. There'd been a bbq earlier so everyone was sat around drinking still and being loud. I was feeling antisocial so had 2 minute noodles (with an older woman telling me how to use the cooker - apparently 'off' means 'off' and 'low' means you can turn the temperature down - she has 2 kids you see so knows these things) and went to bed. My sprawled out roommate was sat up and smoking. The other roommate let me have the bottom bunk as it seems the only way to get onto the top one is to spring off the double bed and hope. He was a strange, gibbering Japanese guy but nice coz he let me have the bottom bunk (not that I gave him much choice). In the dorm next door was a guy pouring his heart out to anyone listening - at least he was something else to listen to other than the blaring music and drunkedness. No 10pm quiet rule in this hostel!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 74; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb