Week 28 - Perth to London (again)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
August 27th 2007
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Perth -> Dubai -> London

Via United Arab Emirates 777-300.

Echidna Near Jonesys HouseEchidna Near Jonesys HouseEchidna Near Jonesys House

Just plodding along
********************************************************************************************************************
The first few photos are from my visit to Perth and the rest are from Em's Switzerland / France trip with her folks and cousin Cath (no text though). ********************************************************************************************************************


Monday 20th August

Got tax return done and drove out to Matt's to stay 1 more night with him.


Tuesday 21st August

After the obligatory cup of tea or two, Matt and I toured out to Jonesy's block in Bindoon. Even from Matt's house its a bit of a hike, but the hour or so drive took us through some very nice bushland and was a good controlled environment to push the Accord past the double ton (kidding Mum!). Not knowing where to go once we got to Bindoon, I popped into the deli to ask for directions. And who should I meet in there but Verina! If she didn't know the way then no one would! 😊 The house was very nice, just needing a few minor things done to finish it off and the big bushy block provided great relaxing views from inside. After a bit of a chin wag, a few drinks and a screening of Dirty Sanchez we said our
World Scrabble Tournament 2007World Scrabble Tournament 2007World Scrabble Tournament 2007

Nan, Benri and Thommo
goodbyes and I took Matt back to Bakers Hill.


Thursday 23rd August

Today I took Benri into Fremantle to get harrassed by some lawyers in a court room simulation as part of his degree. It made me think how quiet the streets were, (relative to London) when I used to see it as a busy place. Nan had flown down from Geraldton for the day just to see me before I head back which was very nice of her. We babysat the Gray litter, featuring an entertaining game of Scrabble, while Kylee and Paul went to see the Vagina Monologues.


Friday 24th August

After spending a bit of time with Nan, Benri and I toured out to O'Conner to go karting for Paul's leaving work do. Twas good fun indeed, Paul's dirty tactics earned him a black flag early on, I got bumped a beauty from behind while under the yellow lights and one girl was caught smooching the track when her kart somehow managed to flip over. At the end of the day, I got two 2nd's and a fifth (better than Benri, and thats the main thing).

Back to Benri's pad
Go Karting In O'ConnerGo Karting In O'ConnerGo Karting In O'Conner

With Paul...who got the yellow card for his track "style".
in Victoria Park just in time to catch the Eagles game with a few of his uni mates. We made a pact to down a Yagerbomb (a shot of Yagermeister dropped into a glass of Red Bull) after every Eagles goal. And we did just that, gulping down 8 each by the time the last quarter was in play. In the end we had to stop so we could watch some of the actual game rather than pouring Bombs every few minutes. Before we knew it, the Eagles had won, everyone had gone home and it was just Ben, me.....and pizza. And then there was 2. 😊


Saturday 25th August

Today was my last day in Oz (for a while) so after packing my bags I said my goodbyes to Matt and Rochelle who popped over and then headed over to Kylee's for a bit of a shindig for little Oliver who would be 1 year old very soon. He was growing up quick and will overtake big brother William at such a rate. Not if William has anything to do with it though. A last Aerobee throw with Benri and Thomas was followed by a trip to the airport and a few drinks before saying our au revoir's once again.


Sunday 26th August

The plane trip from Perth to Dubai was very uncomfortable and I got no sleep at all for the 13 hours or so it took. A stopover in Dubai gave me a chance to grab a nice Frey Wille bangle for Emma and a couple of souvenirs for myself as well. I found out later that the metal camel I bought was filled with a white powdery substance, I hope it was just fine sand!

It was good to see Em again, and she was joined by her parents who were just winding down their UK adventures and were heading back to Perth via a short stopover in Japan. Tubed it home, unpacked and relaxed the rest of the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Dubai AirportDubai Airport
Dubai Airport

Went on forever!


28th January 2008

Watch out!!
Cant believe my beautiful car has bin to Bindoon at 200Km per hour - you just wait till I see you next young man!! It looks like our house was enjoyed as the party place to be!! xxxx
28th January 2008

Come and get me.
Mum, you're getting older now and you'll most likely forget this whole incident by the time I see you next. :-P
29th January 2008

What Litter?
So what am I a cat or a dog. I cant believe you refer to your beautiful nephews as a LITTER (ha ha)
29th January 2008

Didn't know cats could type.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb