Perth, Surf and Pinnacles


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Scarborough
November 29th 2010
Published: December 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

On return from my South West it was straight up to the northern beach suburb of Perth, Scarborough, to indulge in a 5 day period of surf lessons, it's kind of rude not too. Checked into the Western Beach lodge just 10mins stroll from the beach, it's a bit of a 'long termers' hostel so I had to choose a night when there was a big leaving party. Full of people who don't even stay there all bigging up some girl who I'm sure was lovely but I had surfing first thing and was kept up all night.

Surfed with the big boys of Scarborough, SurfSchool (as in surfschool.com) who have posters in all the Perth Hostels etc.
They pop a truck on the grass everyday and my first day being a Saturday it was mobbed, but once with my group and on the water it was fine. The best progress was on my second day, prob cause the wave conditions were the best, when the waves were rough and the water shallow, that was nasty, a lot of bruising, but all in all it's great fun, and always fantastic to go for a proper coffee to recover.

Also returned to the Pinnacles Dessert up north for a day if only because last time my camera was not working (cheap cameras are such a bad idea) For once did it on a grown up luxury tour, all very professional and the food was great but I think I prefer cheap and cheerfull.





Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb