Monkey Mia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Monkey Mia
August 20th 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have had my first dolphin feeding experience (and first argument) at Monkey Mia!

The first dolphin feeding is at 7.30am - so I was up early and waiting on the beach at about 7.15am - getting what I believed to be a prime position. Two dolphins (which I later found out were mum and son) were already frolicking in the water. The younger dolphin gave everyone a little bit of a show by jumping out of the water several times - all was looking good!

Then came the two silly old biddies - they must have each been about 75 in the shade, one would have thought that they would have learned some manners by now - who decided to come and push their way right in front of me. Being a cool, calm and collected person, I let them go - however did manage to “push” them along at every opportunity I got in order to prevent them from obscuring my view of the dolphins - after all that is why I was there. After enduring a rather meaningless discussion between the two on whether there were two dolphins or three in the water (obviously their eyesight was failing them in their elderly years - for the record there were only two dolphins at that point in time), my patience wore thin after they asked me to move out of the way! In as polite a manner as possible, I informed them that they had actually forced their way in front of me, and that I would appreciate at least half a body space through which I could take some photographs seeing as they were inconsiderate enough to force their way into obstructing my view. They did not take to this too kindly, and the more insolent of the two old biddies told me that I was taller than her anyway (at least I am taller than someone!) and that I should grow up - something which she obviously had not done in maturity despite her almost fossil age status. I achieved my goal however - so I was happy!

As for the dolphins, eventually about 5 dolphins came about, and were fed a total of about 3 - 4 small fish each. I have to say that once the feeding started, that it was all over in about 5 minutes, and the dolphins were off into the deeper waters to catch the rest of their breakfast. It was an experience, and I will definitely go and witness the feeding again (the dolphins are fed throughout the morning each day).

I have attached a few of the unobscured pics I managed to get - no thanks to my inconsiderate ancient friends.

PS - Sorry if I have offended any older readers - however these two silly old biddies did the elderly cause no favours whatsoever!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



20th August 2008

You grump. Leave the old ladies alone.
20th August 2008

hilarious
nice to see you have'nt lost your sense of humour and have no issues with your size, height obviously, though I cannot comment on the size of any other part of you, can't say i've ever thought about what size feet you have! of course course Heth and myself have seen you in a stinger suit!!! Also i'm afraid the 'whale of a time' really was not worth commenting on!!! ;-)
20th August 2008

Stinger Suit
I would be careful with comments regarding stinger suits San ... you recall the stinger suit fun we had on South Molle at your expense no doubt! :-) But if you still remember me in a stinger suit ... must have left an indelible impression. Good or bad!! :-)
21st August 2008

respecting your elders.... NOT
my my - you poor little lad. it sounds like such a hard life travelling about the countryside taking happy snaps!
21st August 2008

old farts
I hope they were not Dutch?? - maybe French...
24th August 2008

Old Bats at Monkey Mia
No Gert ... I would love to say that they were Dutch ... or een French ... but these two old bats were definately Aussie! Hope you're well!!
24th August 2008

Old biddies
Rich, its at times like this that you needed the likes of me and San with you. A short, sharp, "oi sling your hook" in a harsh northern tone will have worked wonders on them. San, remember Ayers Rock when that car parked up and that woman got out and nearly ruined out photo shoot. She soon moved out of our way didn't she! Honestly Rich, you're going soft on your travels. Have you managed to blag something for free yet? xx
26th August 2008

be careful I'm reading all the comments !!!! All the french people are not arrogant or worth , but I'm agree sometimes .....dutch are !!lol !
27th August 2008

French
Valerie ..... it was Gert!! I swear!! haha!! Sorry Gert. Gert is a SEB person also ..... ;-)
27th August 2008

message to Heth
I love that I can have communication on Richard's log!! Yep Ayers Rock even more memorable due to the reason I "lost" my fly screen hat in the Olga's due to some unexpected tummy issues!!! And both of you must remember Rich's problems with timing in Coober Pedy. ope your watch is keeping good time for you Rich!!! ;-)
27th August 2008

Comments
Yes San - but I do have the right to delete any I don't like!! I love the power!!! :-)

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb