So long and thanks for all the fish...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Monkey Mia
March 21st 2008
Published: March 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Monkey Mia



Kalbarri was a bit of a let down due to the drought of people. Didn't get to do the activities but did get to go up in a little plane at sunset which was good. All my own fault for not checking this all out before I left.

By the way happy Easter to you all! Don't eat too much chocolate...i have a Kitekat that I've treated myself to.

I am spending Easter at Monkey Mia - yeap the place with the dolphins. It really is like paradise. the dolphins really are just a foot or so away from you in the water and I got a great photo of one of them looking out the water right at me.

Went out on a catamaran tour yesterday and just saw so much wildlife as the water is crystal clear. One of the girls on the boat is English and leaving in a few weeks to go home, she said they were looking for a replacement and I should entertain the idea of considering it! Timing doesn't work for me but i can so see why all the staff here came as visitors and never left. Also went on a night time tour with and Aboriginal guide called cape. Was really good, sat by a campfire listening to him play a dige and ate fish cooked on the fire..mmm

I booked into the dorms to try and met some people after being on my own for 4 nights and i ended up in the only empty dorm in the place for 2 nights! I've moved today to a 7 bed dorm and there are 2 bags in there so i know other life forms are there somewhere.

The only down side to this place is that the bar closes at 10pm as everyone goes to bed early to get up and feed dolphins but as tour buses come in from Perth full of backpackers I'm sure that a small issue like a bar closure isn't going to get in the way. I have 2 litres of wine to work through yet so i should be ok!!

I'm getting all technical now and have even uploaded some videos so check them out xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Shell beachShell beach
Shell beach

There's no sand, the whole beach is made up from shells!
Wild emu's..Wild emu's..
Wild emu's..

they scare me, I think it may have something to do with Rod Hull.


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb